Help us with maintenance and gardening on our property while staying in a forest cabin near Grass Valley, California, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 236 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.10.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    1163

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    98.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are older artisans living our dream deep in the woods north of Nevada City, CA. We work every day on various art and machine projects either for ourselves or our clients. Barbara engages her daily spiritual practice with prayers and flowers upon the land in gratitude for this precious and tender life we are given. Among a myriad of other artistic endeavors, Nik is a author and has written 16 novels (8 in print).

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Nik works every day in a huge art metal working studio, small ceramic studio and woodworking section that could be available, Barbara has a deep devotional practice that permeates the property with flowers and prayers. We are easy going, communicative with laughter and gratitude infusing our daily lives. If you are road weary or just need a recharge from the intensity of city living, our woods are silent and calm, a perfect place to recoup and get back in touch with nature and yourself. Previous workawayers have created wood chopping blocks and jewelry to take home to their families and friends.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our cozy home sits upon 4.5 acres of deep forest that is always in need of maintenance, weeding, brushing, burn piles, cutting and stacking firewood. This year especially, we are working diligently on creating more fire safety for our home while respecting the integrity of the forest environs. Workawayers have been a huge help in this regard, and we are grateful! For those with skills, we periodically have construction repairs and remodels. Sometimes Nik needs help in his art studio and machine shop cleaning and organizing or Barbara in the garden with the perennial gardens, keeping the blackberries behind the deer fencing! If a helper was so inclined and respectful with the tools, on their off hours she/he could use some of the equipment in the studio to make ceramics, paint, jewelry, do wood projects or create welded metal sculpture. Previous workawayers have built a new screen door, loft ladder, window screen and coat hanger for the cabin.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Goofiness, Integrity, Kindness, Generosity, Humor, Gratitude, Trust, Inclusivity

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Your accommodation during your workaway stay would be a small, clean, comfortable cabin deep in the woods 5 miles outside of the historic gold rush town of Nevada City, California. The cozy cabin sports a wood stove for winter months, a fan for the summer, flush toilet. sink with counter, small refrigerator, table, toaster oven, microwave, slow cooker and hot plate plus assorted utensils and plateware. (please note that we do not provide meals though we will share at least one meal together during your stay). The cabin's loft has a queen size bed with sheets, blankets, pillows. You would share our outdoor shower next to the house. No pets allowed. (we do have one very skittish cat!)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is plenty of hiking along the Yuba River canyon, swimming in the river itself during summer, fishing, gold panning, organic farms, visiting the local gold rush historical sites and countless restaurants. The area has 2 big natural food stores, four movie theaters and two live theater venues. Town has a musician or two in almost every restaurant and street corner. Visit our art galleries, curio shops, clothing stores or come during an event at the Nevada County fairgrounds and listen to the endless list of famous bands and musicians who visit regularly. There is public transportation in town and taxi and uber service to our property. Best to have your own car to stay with us, though we go into town most every day, and you can always get a ride with us. The cabin is 50 feet from our house and we live a peaceful life, so quiet, respectful and friendly is foremost in our prerequisites for workawayers. No smoking indoors and no animals(our woods are full of them!). Quiet after 9:30pm inside and outside.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3 hours a day per person 5 days wk. between 8 a.m. -12 pm leaving most of the day of individual exploration and relaxation.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 358228411318