Welcome to our family agro-ecological project in Tumbabiro, Ecuador and give us a hand in the alternative education of our daughters



Bisher 45 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

  • Beschreibung


    Hello! Hola! Bonjour!

    We are a Belgian-Colombian family in Ecuador, Carlos, Christel and our two daughters Danaé (8) and Louisa (3). Four years ago, we made the commitment to live our passion and we moved to the countryside in a small town, Tumbabiro, in the north of the country in the beautiful province of Imbabura. Since then, we have been developing our agro-ecological farm and artisanal bakery project, to achieve a sustainable life model in accordance with our philosophy of life.

    This philosophy of life also entails a decision regarding the education of our daughters, for which we have opted for the formula "school at home" and alternative education based on, among others, Montessori pedagogy. Carlos spends a lot of time working on the farm while I am dedicated to raising my daughters and giving Danaé classes (2 to 3 hours in the morning), in addition to working from home, such as the updating of our website, promotion of workshops in permaculture, agro-ecology, bakery, logistics, and very soon our eco-cafeteria, etc.

    Our farm of 6 hectares has been transformed in these 4 years. From a sad and devastated piece of land we have recovered a living space, green (fruit, vegetables, etc.) and with happy animals (a cow, two donkeys, many chickens, our bees, our dog and our cats). At home we eat an exquisite bread of many different flavours and sizes for the palate of each one of us and our visitors.

    We live close (less than 10 minutes) from some delicious thermal waters of volcanic origin where we usually go 1 or 2 times every fifteen days. We are also close to the Chota Valley known for the rich culture of its Afro Ecuadorian population. An hour and a quarter from our house is Otavalo, the capital of Ecuadorian handicrafts, populated mainly by indigenous people and nearby is Cotacachi, a typical highland town and a popular tourist destination, the capital of leather, where the Cotacachi volcano is located. Our nearest large town, Urcuqui, is a 15-minute drive from the house where you will find some basic shops, a pharmacy, nice restaurants, the market, etc. The first city and capital of the province, Ibarra, is 40 minutes by car (1 hour by bus), in this city you can find large shopping centers, cinema, cafes, concerts, etc. We go shopping to stock up every 15 days. We also travel at least once a month to the capital Quito (3 hours by car).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sharing our life you will undoubtedly discover a different and alternative way of life, closer to nature and to its rhythms. A way of raising children that respects their rhythms and processes. You will have the opportunity to learn how to make an authentic bread, participate in the workshops we teach in agro-ecology and permaculture if that is of interest to you (and should dates coincide) and get your hands dirty! By working with the indigenous population you will have the opportunity to relate to them and perhaps visit them in their community, under prior coordination.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    As you can see we have many activities to do daily and we need your good vibes and help!

    - While I'm teaching (in French) to Danaé I need a hand for you to accompany Louisa in her games, in her learnings. She does not need a nanny but a person who is present, who listens to her and accompanies her without much intervention or direction, because we believe a lot in the decision making and autonomy of our daughters. I usually dedicate two to three hours per day (Monday to Friday) to the Danaé classes in the morning.

    - In the afternoon, I need some time to work mainly on the computer A couple of hours during which Danaé would be happy to play with you, do some crafts, some scientific experiences, a walk around the farm (almost daily) while her little sister, Louisa, would accompany you and participate in her own way.

    - Apart from these moments, every hand to help in the kitchen (cooking, washing the dishes), shopping, and in other daily tasks is very welcome. Or in our farm, gardening, animal care, etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Englisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    We live in a little house (eco construction). And in our garden you will have a comfortable tent where to sleep with access to our equipped bathroom. We are lovers of homemade cooking, with products from the farm (eggs, vegetables, etc.) and what we do not grow we buy in the market. We are not vegetarians, but if you are you will have a space in our kitchen to cook as you like.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have had the opportunity to live and work with volunteers and they were very pleasant experiences ... it is always the opportunity for a breath of fresh air, an enriching exchange for all of us and for Danaé a friendship and an incredible time of discovery.

    In your free time, you will have the farm to walk around, connect with our animals, rest in hammocks, etc. Go to the hot water springs. Some excursions to Otavalo, Cotacachi or the small towns in the surroundings such as Cahuasqui, Pablo Arenas where you can ride a horse. And if you need the excitement of the city every hour there is a bus to Urcuqui and Ibarra.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 223274943433