Help us bring our place back to life and create a wildlife haven in the heart of the Loire Valley, Le Mans, France

  • Frankreich
  • Bisher 3 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 9 März 2023




  • Beschreibung


    Hi, my husband and i took the decision to move into my parents home in France after they died. The house was empty for two years and in that time has degraded and nature has claimed a lot of the 9 acres of garden back and we are struggling to bring it back to life again. Its in the heart of the Loire valley with the most beautiful view. We are both keen to be sustainable and create a haven for all wildlife and ourselves along side. There is a lot history to our house but also to our caves which were inhabited by troglodites and now host many rare species of bats.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Its a beautiful environment in rural France,and there is much history to be learnt about the Loire valley. We are learning French and would love to have French speakers to teach us more, but also would love to teach English too. we are on a journey of discovery and would love to share that with our visitors and are open to ideas for any of our projects. We will always work along side our visitors and aim to complete everything ourselves.

  • Arbeit


    Our dream is to create a wildlife haven and a beautiful landscape for us and our family and friends to enjoy . Our first major project is building a natural swimming pool using natural materials, solar power, oxygen and plants to filter and heat it. We have dug the hole and created the shape but now it needs to be landscaped, drainage and oxygen pipes laid, water reservoirs installed, then it needs to be insulated and lined before we begin planting, The area around the pool needs to be landscaped creating flowerbeds and then planting. Steps need to built to the pool, a large deck area created and fencing around the area for security. We are open to ideas so any designers out there we would love to know what you think. Many skills can be learned, from landscaping to plant knowledge to carpentry.Its a journey for us too so any level of knowledge is welcome we hope you will be learning but also teaching us !
    We have a large allotment which has disappeared completely , this needs clearing back, rotavating, paths created for access and the planting areas ready for the spring season. We will also be planting fruit trees here and in the orchard.
    General garden TLC is needed across the 9 acres, grass cutting, hedge trimming, tree pruning, weeding on a massive scale, planting and creating large meadow areas where we hope to eventually have bees. Most of this work is manual but we do have the tools required to assist.
    There is a huge open barn which is currently filled with rubbish and uncut wood, we would love to get all the wood cut and create a wood store at one end, clear away all the rubbish , re surface the floor and screen off with a handmade fence.
    We also would love to create a central dining area between the properties, Building a large covered pergola and a bar area. Plenty of planting here too and the building of troughs to bring colour to the area.In the same area is two back doors and ideally they need porches built to give a dry space before going inside.
    All the exterior woodwork is in a mess , it all needs rubbing down, repairing , preparing and painting and we are planning a beautiful colour to bring it to life ,a big change from its currant brown varnish , a slow job but if you have painting skills or are just really enthusiastic we need you .

    We are currently taking down walls inside our house to modernise it, so if sloshing on emulsion paint is your thing we have a lot of internal walls that need your help. There is something for everyone we hope and really want to share our journey and lifestyle here in France

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    Historic house with large lounge, kitchen/diner and five bedrooms ( 3 doubles and two twin rooms) . Both bathrooms are on the ground floor and one is en suite. log Burning fire and central heating. All luxuries including coffee machine, american fridge freezer,dish washer, bedding and towels. Breakfast and lunch will be provided.We are more than happy to suggest of accompany you on visits to the area.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are plenty of things to do including, walks, cycling, lakes, chateaus, shopping and the famous Le Mans race track and museum. A train can be taken to Paris in just 50 minutes and cities of Le Mans and Tours are app 45 minutes away. There is no local transport , the local train station is just 4 km away in our local village.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    we have plenty of parking but no electric hook up

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have a cat here so any animal is welcome as long as they tolerate cats with no problem

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 218933742976

Weitere Bilder