Help me to restore a beautiful old garden in the heart of the English Lake District, Ambleside, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 16 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.03.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a street theatre performer (55 years) who enjoys, running, walking and mountain biking. I live in the house with my girlfriend Rowan and my cat.

    The house is an amazing place at the top of a hill on the outskirts of a small town in the centre of the English Lake District.
    It is quiet but very close to local amenities. The house is surrounded by mountains, lakes, tweeting birds and beautiful plants and trees. There are views to the mountains and lots of things to do. I would describe myself as creative, outgoing , friendly and enjoy meeting new people. The house has a stunning garden which needs restoring along with the house and kitchen garden. It is the ideal place to come and stay if you want to experience the Lake District National Park, do lots of adventuring or just have a quiet and contemplative time. The house is a work in progress but there is everything needed to make it hospitable and homely! I also have a little friendly cat.

    Travellers coming to stay with me will benefit from being in a beautiful and peaceful location that is on the edge of a small but vibrant town with good public transport. There are many things of cultural interest and the surrounding area leads to mountain landscapes and walks. Working with us you will be able to learn about different aspects of restoring an old Victorian garden. There are a lot of interesting species of shrubs, mature trees, woodland, a stream and ponds!

    I have travelled a fair bit so understand the joys of visiting new places and meeting new people. I am a juggler/street theatre entertainer and so would be happy to share our knowledge of these skills!

    Couples/ Pairs of friends would be particularly of interest as I may need to be away overnight on a gig now and then.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As well as learning some gardening/building skills there is a chance to soak up the local culture, particularly the lakes poets but the best thing to do here is walk in the hills, swim in the lakes and drink tea in all the wonderful cafes! I can teach you to map read/use a compassions, juggle or play the ukulele! Obviously for people wanting to improve their English I can help there too.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am restoring a beautiful old garden and vegetable garden which require landscaping, path, steps and bridge building, easy weeding , difficult weeding, pruning, pond creation, ground maintenance, lots of easy, medium and hard tasks in a stunning location.

    I am also restoring the house so if you prefer helping out indoors then decorating skills like painting would be useful. i need a bit of joinery doing and various small building projects, like walls that could do with a fix up.I can assist and instruct in all aspects of the project but any skills and expertise in gardens or landscaping would be much appreciated.

    I would be particularly interested in couples or two friends who could keep each other company if I have to go on an overnight gig.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English/basic french

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Its a large 5 bedroom house. Visitors stay in room Double bed and en suite shower/wc. Plus another double bedroom if two friends want separate rooms.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The house is in the heart of the English Lake District. There are good links to the main-line rail network via bus. There are regular buses that can take you all over a wide area. There is bike hire in the town and I can possibly loan a bike if it is appropriate.

    The house is a 5 minute walk into the town where there are shops, cinema, cafes etc. there are hundreds of scenic walks and bike rides. From our house there are many easy to hard walks to be done.There are Lakes where you can take boat rides, hire canoes and row boats, swim if warm enough or just sit and feed the swans. If you like art or writing then the landscape is very inspirining and has inspired many famous poets and artists over the centuries, there are museums and art galleries and visitor attractions in the town and other locations near by which show their work. I enjoy spending time in the outdoors; running, walking, cycling, camping and of course gardening!

    I spend a lot of time at home on our house and garden project. Because I have a street theatre company I sometimes practice juggling skills and rehearse and build new shows. I live a fairly quiet life although in summer I am often working entertaining the public! In choosing to stay with me you will be treated with genuine respect and interest. I would appreciate people who like their own space but are happy to join in and be sociable. I like good fresh food, and respect the environment so recycle and try not to buy plastic and chemicals and aerosols.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 192619174716