Learn about life in Alaska, caring for Alaskan huskies and Icelandic horses on a lovely mountainside, outside of Anchorage, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 220 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.09.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    95.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    An update in light of the Covid Pandemic. Please know we have greatly enjoyed our past workdays and wish to continue hosting. With the concerns for the virus we may ask more details about your recent activities and travel to keep us all safe. Alaska currently has a 14 day self quarantine in effect and requirement to be tested upon arriving in Alaska. Please plan accordingly and we will be happy to help with that requirement.

    We have a lovely home on a mountainside 10 miles north of Anchorage, Alaska in Eagle River. Lois, I am an advanced practice nurse who does much of my work from home, telemedicine and on line teaching. I am also a master gardener and love to grow flowers and garden in the summer months. Eric, is a pediatrician at the Alaska Native Medical Center.

    There are great hiking trails right from our property. Our four legged family includes, very friendly Alaskan Huskies and Icelandic Horses. In the summer we have a small vegetable garden and greenhouse filled with flowers. Some extra help around the property is always appreciated and welcomed. We also foster dogs and puppies for Alaskan Animal Rescue Friends. The horses are very friendly and if you have experience riding English style you might want to go for a ride around the neighborhood trails.

    Our 25 year old daughter is about to enter veterinarian school. Our 22 year old son who is an engineering student, also lives at home some of the time. We have traveled to many parts of the world as a family and individually and love to share our Alaskan life with others. Our first ten years in Alaska were spent in a bush community off of the road system and we have an understanding and interest in many other cultures.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn about Alaskan life, caring for Alaskan Huskies, dog mushing, gardening, care of Icelandic Horses. You will have the opportunity to do some great hiking and adventuring in Alaska. We are a very active family and are willing to include you in our activities and travels in the area. Come with a sense of adventure and willingness to get out and enjoy the beauty of Alaska.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help with gardening, care and feeding our Alaskan Huskies and Icelandic Horses. Feeding the dogs can be a bit messy if we have lots of rain and it gets muddy. We have lots of "work" clothes you can borrow. It is a fun and rewarding activity. General yard help, assisting with gardening or projects around the property. We will gladly share our knowledge and skills with others, no specialized skills required, just a love for animals and willingness for new adventures and a desire to be helpful. Alaska is a beautiful state that offers once in a lifetime opportunities if you have a sense of adventure and willingness to get out and enjoy the beauty and all that Alaska has to offer.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanish: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Single room with shared bath. We will be happy to include you in family meals. We try as often as possible to eat together as a family but with busy lives that is not always possible. We have a well stocked refrigerator and freezer with full access to guests. We also love to go to the farmers markets and purchase wonderful local vegetables in the summer. Absolutely NO SMOKING any where on the property. Light alcohol use is acceptable.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Public transportation is very limited in most of Alaska including our area, we frequently travel into Anchorage and down our hill/mountainside to Eagle River daily and will be glad to give you rides as much as possible. Our home is about two miles from the center of Eagle River. In the summer there are buses and trains to other parts of Alaska for trips around the state. Be prepared to have a sense of adventure and see the real Alaska and all of the beauty everywhere. Accomodations in other parts of Alaska are limited and very expensive in the summer. A sense of adventure and willingness to camp or stay in hostels will open up many opportunities for you. Summer is the main season to see the sights of Alaska, trains run, busses go around the road system. Winter and spring can be beautiful but organized activities and public transportation outside of the cities is limited. Much to do and see if you have a sense of adventure and are willing and interested in getting out and seeing our beautiful state.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4 hours a day, five days a week, varies and can be flexible

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 183294379154