Help with a variety of projects from gardening to prop-making at our place near to Puivert, Aude, France

  • Frankreich
  • Bisher 458 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 18 Sept. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    This is us. Our little nest in a big world. On the edge of a sweet French hamlet, in a green valley. Phil is based here most of the year. Then Vanessa, her young son Eli, and our parents often come for a break from the UK when they can. Phil will be here to greet you. The others you will likely meet during your stay.

    This is a small community hamlet of mixed French/English speakers and to nurture good community relations we regularly socialise together. You won't just be with our family but will be a part of the hamlet too. And beyond the hamlet... you will be part of our wider community of lovely people (you get to meet most of them at either the Sunday market or the local beer brewery). Social life here is very busy. Friends are passing through every day...

    The setup is over two houses, with gardens, woodland and fields. We have a large barn used as a workshop/store; a herb garden, a large vegetable garden, a berry patch, ducks, geese, a dog and all the visiting wildlife (boar, deer, badgers).
    The work right now is establishing systems and putting in basic infrastructure. There is a lot of work to do but it is varied and we do it to our rhythm.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We love having adventures and you would be welcome to join us on our adventures.
    Caving: I am currently exploring the Cthulhu cave - its a 27km fault of incredible rock.
    Climbing: Loads around here. We are members of the local indoor wall too.
    Exploring: Every Thursday we do a full day trek. (unless its raining then we go to the spa :)

    Our region is home to Rennes-les-Chateaux (origin of the Dan Brown Da Vinci code)
    Bugarach (the famed UFO mountain)
    Alet-Les-Bains (Where Nostradamus lived)
    Cathar legends of buried treasure
    and much more!

    There are isolated valleys, swimming in rivers and lakes, dancing and relaxing in hot springs. The landscape here is pretty wild. And when we are not adventuring in search of lost treasure, we will be having BBQ's in the sunshine. The valley has alot of parties/events in good weather that we participate in (incase you wondered about our costumes in the photos - thats not our every day dress)
    We are a pretty mix-European bunch with plenty to share and learn from eachother.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We have various projects on the go and so there are opportunities for you to do lots of different things.

    1. Building stone raised beds.
    2. Making compost tea and other healthy brews.
    3. Weeding, weeding, weeding.
    4. Building a small canal to channel water into a water basin
    5. Re planting the veg garden which has been dug up and started again fresh this year.
    6. Trampline area: clear out all the old wood and debris so we can level the ground.

    1. Occasional mucking out the coop and feeding/watering.
    2. Egg collecting

    1. Gates to construct and install
    2. Fencing to be checked and mended if needed

    Camp Field
    1. Building a compost toilet
    2. Cleaning up the field to use as a camping ground

    Vehicle Restoration
    The Landrover Defender 'Wolf' is getting new body panels. You can help me figure out how to re-assemble it.

    Currently no events been planned

    The Yurt also needs regular cleaning (its also one of our accomodation offers)
    Anika (my daughter) spends most weekends here. If you have a special skill that you would like to share then if Anika is interested, we can run a class. She is 13 years old. For example Spanish language, or Manga drawing. She wants to learn Portuguese (she is 25% Brazilian 25% Argentinian but cant yet speak either language) Or teach Archery. We have a few Mongolian style bows of different sizes. She is also into cooking. Introduce her to a new dish :)

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Accommodation in a comfortable, small mobile home converted from an old Russian army radio communications truck We took the truck on a road trip into West Africa a few years ago. Now it is stationed on the edge of a field looking into the sunrise. It has one double bed, lights, a fridge, sink and radiator and is suitable for a couple. Phil's house has a shared bathroom and there is also a separate WC in the near house.
    All your meals are with the family and you have open access to the kitchen in Phil's house plus WiFi (unfortunately there is as yet no signal in the Zil - perhaps you can figure out to to get a signal to it). The Zil has a gas stove so you can also cook in private if you feel the need.
    If you are vegetarian/vegan or have special dietary requirements (or you don't like our cooking!) you are welcome to prepare your own meals in our kitchen with the ingredients we have available. I can do vegetarian cooking (mainly curries and Italian) and if your vegan I am up for experimenting a little more :)

    For food - we can provide you ingredients for you to make your breakfast in the Zil (or joinj us). I can provide the Lunch which is our main meal. And then in the evening we tend to snack on leftovers or cook up something quick.

    If you have your own camper it is possible to find you parking space.

    Sometimes the yurt is also available. However, during the winter months it is dismantled for servicing.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Our internet connection is very fast - indoors only. For example a previous guest was an online English teacher and used the internet for video-stream teaching. However, quiet space is not always available - in which case we would need to work something else. Some notice is therefore needed to make arrangements.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a flat grass field with decent access. There is no power on site. We would like to build a compost toilet on site. The field is sheltered and has a stream running down one side of it. It gets plenty of sunshine. It has limited phone reception and no wifi. It is 5 minutes from the house.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 176368511554

Feedback (12)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)