Help out at our hobby farm on Vancouver Island

Country

Kanada

Bisher 83 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.05.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our family of four (boy 14, girl 10) lives on 5 acres in the beautiful Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island. We call our hobby farm Any Fool's Farm because a mountainous farm in California that inspired us to take up rural living 10 years ago has a sign: "Any fool can farm flat land" --and our land is relatively flat. We try to grow as much of our food as possible but our work lives (to protect the natural world) and busy kid schedules mean we don't get nearly as much time in the gardens as we'd like. This is where you come in!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We host music concerts, both indoors and outdoors, that would give travellers the inside scoop on living here. Travellers would also have the opportunity to learn about native plants and making medicine from them, experience the glorious Cowichan River (walking distance from our property), and embrace the local food (and beverage) scene.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like help with gardening and the chickens five hours a day, five days a week. And depending on the time of year, there could be additional projects such as painting, building a greenhouse, or making herbal tinctures.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Guest room in the house--on the lower floor. There is a half bath there, and access to a shower/bathtub upstairs. Visiting helpers become part of the household and have access to the living room etc. You will eat with us or on your own schedule--we supply the food, you help with cleanup. (We like to cook, but also love to have help with that--no pressure, but we've had amazing meals from helpers, from Ecuadoran to Japanese cuisine)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Bicycles are available for use--we are a 20-minute bike ride to town (Duncan). We are walking distance from wonderful hiking trails, a winery and two excellent restaurants and a great corner store. We can also drive you to see other sights as well as a weekly music jam. We have an inflatable boat you can use to float down the Cowichan River. We are a family that likes to work hard and celebrate life and we've had great experiences getting to know travellers from all over (including fellow Canadians!).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

one of our berry gardens
The four of us with a wonderful helper from Japan



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 172623371835