Disabled couple needs help with taking care of house, near Reykjavik, Iceland

Country

Island

Bisher 105 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.09.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    1928

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a disabled couple living in Akranes, Iceland, a small fishing village about 40 mins drive north of Reykjavik. We have both had heart attacks in the last few years and I am experiencing extreme memory loss. I am 59 and he is 63. We don't need looking after, we are mobile :)

    We have 2 sons aged 25 and 22. One is an aviation student and lives with us, but is fully occupied with his studies and flight lessons, the other lives and works in Reykjavik. We need help with housework, mostly cleaning and tidying up all kind of things that involve bending over which both of us find difficult to to, so vacuuming, mopping the floors, loading and emptying the dishwasher, changing bed linen, ironing etc.

    Recently we bought a retirement house in Bulgaria so my husband will be there for many months supervising the refurbishing of the house there, but he will be back in Iceland sometimes.

    I love to sing and sometimes take part in concerts. I run the ex-pat club and organise multicultural events and take part in several charity organisations. I am originally from Scotland and have lived in Iceland for over 25 years (I'm currently applying for Icelandic citizenship). My husband is Icelandic.

    We prefer someone who would like to stay for a few months. We have had workaway people in the past who wanted to find a job and settle in Iceland and we have helped quite a few do that.

    We cannot accept smokers.

    LoVe Pauline

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can learn Icelandic or improve your English. I am Scottish and my husband is Icelandic. You learn about and experience Iceland and learn Icelandic. I'm also the president of the ex-pat club and we put on international festivals which you can take part in if you like. Always something fun to be done here. My husband can teach you car mechanics or how to repair things around the house. I also oil paint sometimes and you can try that out if you wish.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our sons have grown up and flown the nest (well one keeps flitting back and forth :) ) and so we are finding it difficult to take care of our big house and garden.

    We also have a small potato patch that we have not been able to work on due to our physical health for several years now and it is overgrown. That is very sad and I would love it, if someone would take over and start to use it to grow some potatoes or other vegetables. There is some rhubarb that I use for cooking if I can get someone to pluck it for me. We have an organic compost heap that is going to waste. You can grow whatever you wish. I just want to see the land going to use. We have loads of blackcurrants that needed picking but sadly we've had no-one to pick them for the past few years :(

    In exchange you would have your own room and all meals and be treated like one of the family. We have perhaps one of the fastest internet connections in the world. You can also have access to a vehicle when we are not needing it, which is quite often. We would not expect you to help more than 4-5 hours a day 5 days a week. We sometimes go on trips to other parts of Iceland and you are welcome to come with us if there is space in the car.

    It is very important to us that you are a non-smoker. We have had people tell us this in the past and then when they came they were smokers but said that they would smoke outside. This just would not work for us as the smell is in the hair and clothes and really makes me ill. Vaping is ok :)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Icelandic

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Room in a family home. It is a detached house. Our food is quite international. We are 4 mins walk from the beach.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a bus that goes into Reykjavik regularly. You can borrow our van or car if we are not using it. It is possible to have several days off to go travel in the countryside. We often go to other parts of Iceland and you are welcome to come with us.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (5.0)










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 172371289681