Help young farmers develop a new sustainable farm in Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 66 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are an enthusiastic couple starting a small farm in Musquodoboit Harbour, NS with our baby Husky Luna and mutt Sandy. We have been building up our farm the past 1.5 years with the help of some wonderful workawayers. We are hoping to finally have our grand opening this summer, start running farm tours, rescue more domestic animals and hve a more consistent production cycle. We are aiming for more small scale methods of farming with lots of biodiversity and recycling of nutrients. We are not from a farming background and this has been a great adventure for us & we plan to continue (just need a little help) growing our farm. Right now, are raising chickens, ducks, pigs, rabbits and boarding horses. We also have 3 goat (2 of our girls are due in April) and 2 geese. We also hope to do some gardening with the compost created by our animals this spring. We have been very lucky to have had wonderful workawayers the past year and want keep meeting new travellers and new people. We are looking for someone to add to our project; bring in new ideas, methods & enthusiasm. We've had success with farm tours the past couple weeks, so as a volunteer there is opportunity to make some income on the farm (although not something substantial).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live about 45 minutes outside of Halifax, NS, just along the ocean. There are lots of wonderful outdoor activities all around us (kayaking, swimming, hiking, climbing, etc.). We are both from Quebec and moved to Nova Scotia to enjoy its beauty and tranquility. You would be part of the family as we would share our dinners & hot tub times. When not working you can enjoy hammocking and hottubing while looking at the ocean. We also love playing board games, chatting or making fires.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are just starting our farm and looking for help this summer. Tasks will range from helping us take care of animals, gardening, putting up fences, cooking, engaging the community, etc. We currently have chickens, ducks, rabbits, goats and horses. In the spring we will also have pigs. The tasks will be extremely diverse as we are just starting out and the amount of work is quite high despite our small size. We do expect a hard worker and someone that is comfortable around animals and dealing with animal wastes.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We are just finishing up a cabin we built especially for our workers. It is a separate building on the farm and overlooks the harbour. There are two lofted queen beds, a little kitchen, shower, outhouse and couch. It will be available for workawayers once we finish in (expecting mid February 2021). We also have a large finished basement with private bathroom/shower and queen bed. Meals are provided, however, help cooking would be appreciated. We try to eat as healthy as possible and aim to eat as much from what we produce. Once the cabin is done we are planning to allow workawyers their space and privacy in the mornings/afternoons and in the evenings join us for a communal dinner & any internet needs (no internet at the cabin).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are a laid back, young couple and enjoy our little paradise. However, we definitely understand the need to explore your surroundings. Therefore, we are open to offering rides in town or up to hiking site or wherever you would like to go.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    If the pet is friendly with farm animals & other dogs!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 146555796881