Small, well rounded farm welcoming cultural exchange central Texas, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 420 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    54  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live on a small farm located on 23 acres in central Texas. Cliff owns a 100 year old furniture store in our small town and I work from home and take care of the farm animals. We have goats, chickens, ducks and rabbits and one horse.

    I need help with all aspects of farm upkeep. This might include gardening/weeding, milking goats (depending on season), doctoring animals, fence repair, moving goats from pasture to pasture, grooming animals, helping with cooking and preparing meals. From time to time we might paint a structure or barn. Animal feeding/care is done twice per day (morning/evening chores) most days have a lot of free time depending on what projects we have that week but it doesn't take long - 30 minutes maximum.

    We love to share our Texas culture and will try to provide authentic Texas style experiences while you are here such as rodeos and horse related events, music venues and other cool stuff. The more you are enthusiastic and helpful to us, the more we will try to get you involved in other fun activities. We will also pay for you to attend (while with us!) events, rodeos, restaurants, etc. so the only money you will be spending is for your own souvenirs, alcohol, special or junk food and anything you want to buy for yourself. Most helpers never spend any money while they are here.

    We are also looking for a short term candidate who can house/farm sit during short vacation trips.

    There are snakes/spiders/bugs all around us. Not to be afraid of but to respect. They will not harm you if you don't harm them and stay out of their way. There is also a lot of animal manure/poop. Occasionally animals get sick and die or we have to humanely put them out of their misery. We also use our rabbits for meat. If you are squeamish about any of these you probably aren't going to fit well with us.

    If you'd like to come and share our culture, we can accommodate up to 2 individuals at a time either singles or a couple. You would be expected to help with basic daily animal care and upkeep of property but would have plenty of "down time" to relax and enjoy the country. Housing is a small travel trailer with plumbing, A/C, heat and electric (and an awesomely comfortable queen size bed as most of the helpers say!). One evening meal with our family will be provided and helpers will be responsible to prepare breakfasts and lunches either with food provided in the RV or you are welcome to come in our house to prepare what you want to eat. We do provide all food for meals so helpers will not have that expense other than if they have special dietary needs or want to buy your own junk food as we do not eat that way. People with food allergies/special diets (veggie, vegan, lactose intolerant, paleo, all-organic/all-natural, etc) are welcome as long as you supply your own specialty foods if unable to eat what is prepared.

    We only speak English and you would need your own transportation to get to Texas but we can pick you up at the bus station or airport in Dallas. No children or pets.

    Hope to see you soon!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Get a true Texas experience - we'll try to show you the best of Texas and the people who call this piece of heaven "home".

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    NOTE! If you are fearful of COVID-19, you probably aren't going to fit in well here. We do not do not do social distancing or mask wearing.

    Volunteers would be expected to help with all aspects of the farm and maintenance/up keep.. This might include helping with cooking and preparing meals, harvesting vegetables and weeding gardens. I also need things done in my house from time to time such as cleaning, sweeping, painting. Feeding is done twice per day (morning/evening chores, feeding animals which takes about 20-30 minutes) most days have a lot of free time depending on what projects we have that week. I usually ask that you complete one chore or project per day. This can take anywhere from 30 min to 4 or 5 hours (rare).

    I expect my helpers to behave as adults and as good guests. I’m not cheap– but frugal. I ask that helpers not be wasteful (or destructive) of our resources–food, supplies, power, water, tools, belongings. Helpers are reminded that they are sharing a communal living space and should be considerate of the other household members

    We get many requests from volunteers each month and due to limited space, I can only accommodate a few. All requests are first come, first serve. When I accept someone, another is turned down. Please be mindful of this as last minute cancellations and/or no shows impact many.

    All Visitors must carry some form of medical insurance for the length of your stay with us. (If you currently do not have any medical insurance, may we suggest (link is external).) Upon arrival, we will go through a brief registration process. You will provide me with copies of ID, passport etc. A Release of Liability will be signed by visitors upon arrival to property.

    When it comes to power, gas, and water, please be mindful that it’s expensive!!! When you leave your room, turn off the lights/fans. Keep your shower to a few minutes–one shower per day. Do not waste household supplies (cleaners, detergent, tissue, etc). It helps us out financially. When you come into the house please remove your shoes. If your shoes are muddy, remove them outside.

    You will keep your sleeping area clean, your personal things put away at all times, and the bathroom sanitary. Bed linens, Towels will be provided; along with hats, gloves and work clothes if needed. You will clean any areas that you cause to be disorganized or soiled.

    We appreciate any input on better ways to do things here. We are still learning too. Ultimately though, we will have to make the final decision on what is best for our home, animals, and land.

    If you like to sleep late, lay around watching videos/TV/chatting or texting on your phone and are the lazy type, you are not going to fit in well here so please don't apply.

    We are up early every morning with the sun, energetic and active people and expect our guests/helpers to be the same!

    The more you interact with and help us, the more inclined we will be to show you a good time! Lay around unmotivated, you will not inspire us to want to entertain you. It's just that simple!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Housing is a small travel trailer with plumbing, A/C, heat and electric with a super comfortable queen sized bed!. We only speak English and you would need your own transportation if you want to drive places but we do have bicycles you can use to go around town. No children or pets. Home made evening meals included and/or groceries provided for helpers to make their own meals. You will prepare your own breakfast and lunch each day with groceries we provide so you won't have any food expenses unless you want to buy your own food.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are 45 min from downtown Dallas, Texas and 1 hour 30 minutes from Ft. Worth. We can pick you up at either Dallas Ft. Worth (DFW) airport or Dallas Love Field airport (DAL) or the bus station in Dallas.
    Our town is small but we do have some historical areas to see and things to do. If we go out we will take volunteers with us to music venues or other events such as rodeos and horse related events for entertainment. We try to make you feel as if you are part of our family and we would love to share our country/Texas culture with outsiders and hope to gain insight to other's culture as well!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, maximum 25 hours a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 138975474217