Share our space with us in Thames, New Zealand

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 103 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.02.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    1129

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    65.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi I’m Shirley and my Son Nigel and I live on a beautiful 200 acre farm/bush lifestyle block in the Kauaeranga Valley, 7 km's from Thames. Its a large house and property, so there is always something that needs doing.
    We’re both environmentally aware and have built the place as a healthy happy environment. We have abundant vegetable gardens and presently looking at creating another area. We love to share our space with others in return for some help around the place. That way its a win win for all. Nigel and I are both well travelled and enjoy meeting people from all walks of life. I still travel quite a bit myself as I teach a self empowerment course.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can learn about the area we live in. It was originally a gold mine town and they also cut down all the huge kauri trees here to make masts for ships. Practicing the English language if thats part of your intention. We have a close community here so you could meet some genuine country people. Generally we join you in with what we’re doing and take you with us if we’re going anywhere. It’s a home away from home really.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    At the moment we really need help with tidying up the gardens. Some of the plants need deadheading and cutting back. There could be some lawn-mowing, it’s all flat and we have a good mower. Some of the edges need tidying up with a whizzer. We are looking to develop another large vegetable garden in an area that is currently lawn. We could be moving and stacking some firewood. Possibly cutting some not too large trees and cutting it up with a chainsaw. There’s some decks that need preparing and staining, and some retaining walls that need water blasting and staining also. There’s a lot of windows here that need cleaning, its a bit of an ongoing job. Some general help around the house with cleaning too. There are a number of fences around the farm that are in need of repair. Another ongoing project. Posts and battens need replacing, wires re-tensioned or replaced as required. We are also looking to create some new fences too. We are also planting trees.

    Would be great if you have had experience in similar functions before.
    Due to our rural location you must have your own TRANSPORT.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Only English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The house is large and has 5 bedrooms. We have a room with a set of bunks and a desk and drawers which is ideal for two helpers. The beds are very comfortable with quality mattresses. We have three lounges and three bathrooms. A large kitchen and a smaller one, and a big dining room. The outside has extensive decks on both sides.
    Breakfast is a help yourself arrangement. We have cereals, fruit, toast and eggs. Lunch and dinner Is prepared together or by me if everyone is busy doing jobs. Cleaning up after cooking, dishes etc is done by all of us together.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There’s a lot to see in the Coromandel peninsula but transportation is limited. We have a bicycle here that you can borrow. Hot water beach is just over an hour away from us. You dig in the sand at low tide and the hole fills up with hot water from the underground spring. Your own spa pool on the beach!
    Cathedral Cove is a great walk down to the beach with a huge rock formation. The water there is a marine reserve so lots of fish, great for snorkelling.
    In our valley there’s a company that can take you abseiling down the waterfalls, not sure of the cost.
    You can kayak in places. Lots of great cycling tracks and walks to do.
    We live a relaxed quiet life here and are mindful of other people and their needs. As we do accomodate other paying guests as well, you need to respect others privacy and expectations of a quiet environment.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    One 8 hour day, the next day off, then repeat...



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 138336519747