Come live on the Oregon Coast in an off-grid cabin, with horses, chickens, and organic garden

Country

United States

Favourited 216 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/01/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HI: My name is Susan and I live on the Oregon Coast in a small town called Seal Rock. My place is different from most houses. It sits on top of a stables which houses five horses. There are about two acres that also has chickens, dogs, cats and mason bees. There is gardening and areas for more vegetables and a food forest which is in progress. In the shop area there is a loft that can be set up as a grow area for plants or what ever makes you happy. One part is hay storage and pet chickens. The property sits across from the ocean and has a good view plus close to trails and beach hikes. The Oregon Coast is a unique place to live. We're not far from town and you can reach the mountains to ski with in a few hours. There is great history with Native tribes and settlers. Lots of historical towns and covered bridges. There is fishing, and boating plus swimming. I also have an off grid cabin that has raised beds and a food forest. It is about a mile away from the main house.

    There is a lot of horseback riding we can do, nature trips, and hiking plus there is a lot of art and glass blowing. There is so much to explore and do, it is relieving and the ocean offers so much.

    My family includes my boyfriend who is running our family business and my 16 year old grandchild.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help with gardening at the house, building raised beds, and planting the food forest here and at the cabin. I am trying to bring back bees so planting bee friendly plants is a desire. I would like someone to help take care of animals so I can go on a much needed camping trip. This can be explained more in detail later. This would involve the horses and chickens.

    I just started a non profit and would also like help with that and help building the website, plus maybe giving me some direction. This is part of giving back to society.

    Building is another part that I need help with, I have to reconstruct the chicken coop. I need help with building a larger roof to keep the elements out. I want to build bat houses and bird feeders. I do have all the tools and if I do not I can get them. The mason bees is another project and growing worms.

    Shopping is not required but it is nice having a little help, I am a great cook so I would be cooking for you vegan, vegetarian options, no meat unless required.

    Organic gardening and raising organic eggs plus selling them is fun.

    There is a lot of maintenance such as painting, repairing, fence repair, landscaping, arena work, and other chores. There is so much that can be done but being near the ocean makes it all worthwhile.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Oregon takes care of its environment and values nature so being close to old growth trees and the ocean is a learning experience. Having salty air also makes gardening a challenge. I do not speak any other language besides English but I can cook authentic Mexican food. There is great deep history here with light houses and one is even haunted. There are tide pools, crabbing, and lots of fishing. Great views, whale watching and my neighbor would take you out in the ocean on his small fishing boat. There's lots of beachcombing; finding treasures along the beach. This is where the forest meets the ocean, and there's lots of kayaking, and state parks preserved for the person who is wanting to learn about the history here.
    There is a lot of history on Native Indians and how they lived, this shows us all the way to living a better life.

    Leaning about horses can help you gain equestrian skills or add some to mine. If that is not up your alley then one can try their hand at skate boarding and BMX biking. Every town has a crazy skate park. You can always ski too since the ski resorts are not too far.

    Seal Rock is a sanctuary for migratory birds, hundreds of different species come to visit. Wildlife is also plentiful here, whether you watch the sea lions bark on the bayfront in Newport, or watch the seals and sea otters play in the water in the Alsea Bay.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can have up to three people. I have two options : One is at the main house in the loft which is a about 1000 sq. feet. One can use the restroom in the barn and use my shower. Also you can have dinner and wash laundry at the house.
    Number 2: The cabin which is about one mile away sleeps three people but is off the grid. It has rain barrels and a tank of water. Wood stove, gas stove, propane refrigerator, solar green house, and is equipped for living such as dishes, bed, couch, dresser and a bucket shower. This cabin has a composting toilet/in house toilet.
    The cabin has raised beds and a started wet land and food forest.
    The cabin is surrounded by birds and other habitat such as forest and you can hear the ocean. If you are looking for a spiritual place to live you can get it here; you can meditate, read, write, play music, and have a bon fire.
    Plus you can have tents.

    Food: I will cook every night but I would appreciate the work away would cook once in a while. I will provide food. We can always shop for what other supplies are needed. In summer there are many farmer markets. The garden here should be providing fresh food also. There are always eggs.
    I do not have time for breakfast but there is coffee, and I can provide muffins or other items. Lunch I am gone so the work away will have to cook, but the pantry is full.

    My first Workawayers: I made dinner for them but they made homemade bread or contributed by helping with dishes and setting table. The also vacuumed and help clean house. Once a week they made me dinner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is bus service or if you have your own vehicle its 15 min to Newport and 35 miles to Lincoln City. There is a performing arts center and cinema. Not far from the dunes and other great sites. Plenty of hiking, beachcombing, rock hounding, skate boarding, photography, native plant study, surfing, bike riding.

    I usually get up around 8:00 and feed the horses and chickens, muck out the stalls, and feed the dogs. I pick up the house and do odd chores then off to work. I'm usually back around 4 PM but it can change. I come home and work on projects then make dinner, and then its free time. I try to ride or walk on beach or do other odd jobs. During summer there is more time to enjoy outside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Lucho from Argentina workaway was having fun at Smith Rock on our hike. Matte lover.
Veronica from Italy workaway is creating our logo!
Lil Sidney grandchild on my boyfriend side was holding on to Paisly. She was visiting from Minnesota. She had great fun.
Marritt from the Netherlands from workaway, grooming Bacardi before riding.
Marritt and I went horse camping in Central Oregon , beautiful day there. She will be missed.
A back view of the pasture, arena, and the house.
Here's Bacardi and Joe relaxing in the arena on a rainy day.
This is Joe and I about to go for a walk.
A beautiful sunset on Seal Rock Beach, just across the street from my house.









Host ref number: 965634132584