NOW: Looking for help with child care / house stuff - Poland, SUMMER: looking for help with an eco project for kids

updated
Country

Poland

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: We are now looking for a girl to help our family until mid March or longer while my husband travels abroad for work. We have two kids, Karina (nearly 7 months) and Gaia (3.5y). We need help around the house in daily tasks, tidying up, cooking, childminding etc. We can offer accommodation with us in a spare bedroom in our 2-bedroom flat for shorter stays or an independent room rented from a local B&B. We struggle to find any nanny or mother's help nearby as it's a fairly small town and there are no students around.

    The area is really beautiful, a small town located in the middle of National Park, close to nature. The reason we need help is to get some time to prepare to work on an eco project we want to do in summer - a recycled and natural playground for kids. So - even though you would be helping in daily home running and playing with kids, you will be a part of a greater action contributing to society and bringing educational value for a better world for everyone.

    -----

    We are Aleks, Jarek, Gaia (3.5) and Karina (7 months old) a very friendly family living in a small town in a beautiful part of Poland, practically inside National Park. We live close to nature and cook healthy, mostly organic food. We are very social humans so we just thrive when there is a bunch of people nearby that we can spend time with, cook and eat with and share ourselves for the mutual benefit. Saying that - we enjoy our private space, too and we appreciate that most people like their privacy so we're very considerate. We are trying our best to bring our kids up in a conscious way, respecting their individuality but also creating necessary boundaries so they can feel safe and secure in their home environment. It's important for us and we are quite devoted to the idea of utilising contemporary psychological knowledge to support those fantastic brand new human beings on their journey into the society and the world. We need help with daily home stuff, cooking, shopping, babysitting etc. all year round and for warmer months we have this fantastic project planned where you can help while living in an old wooden schoolhouse building. The area is quiet and peaceful so it will suit somebody who enjoys being around nature and things like spotting deers on a walk through the forest. We plan to create a tiny Workaway village at the schoolhouse this spring/summer season to build the playground.

    The town itself is beautiful, too, and a popular tourist destination in the summer season, outside the season it is quieter, but the views are spectacular and nearly every walk is full of picturesque scenes.

    We have a bicycle rental in the family and we like going for trips nearby, you will be provided with a bike if you stay in our summerhouse from spring onwards.

    We used to live in London for over 10 years and now we are back to our homeland. While we love being close to our families we also miss the cultural diversity. We would love to meet people from all around the world.

    We love to socialise and not only meeting but getting to know - on a deeper level - people from all over the world. We love a good conversation over a glass of wine or a cup of tea in the evening. We’re interested in photography (have photo equipment for a home studio), healthy eating and natural living, cooking, travelling, psychology, social studies, the way people live and think all around the world. We like spending time outdoors and enjoy frequent trips to forage mushroom or simply explore the nature.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are well-travelled and open-minded people who are respectful and considerate. But we are also very Polish and happy to be part of this community. The life in our town is rather simple as there is no heavy infrastructure so the Workawayers can witness and take part in a daily reality of slightly underdeveloped Poland (we are on the South-East of the country and the mentality here is very different than on the Western parts). We have many sites (museums etc) here where you can have a look at how people used to live before in the past two centuries. We visit those places happily to show them to our daughter.

  • Help

    Help

    All year round - we would appreciate help with regular household duties, some cooking, tidying up, going for walks with our baby or playing with our 3.5-yo daughter and using English with her (we would like her to use more English, she only knows a little).

    Warmer half of the year (roughly April to October) - we also have an old wooden schoolhouse building in a village nearby that we plan to turn into a kids play area. We have a project and a clear idea what needs to be done, but we need help actually doing it. It’s an eco project, we want to do a natural playground, using old, recycled or natural materials with as little plastic as possible. Mud kitchen, brick labyrinth, wicker hut etc. There is a lot of work around there and it would suit practical people who like some manual work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Polish, English, a little Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    WINTER:
    Option 1 - our spare bedroom in our 2-bedroom flat for shorter visits.
    Option 2 - for the right person and longer stays we are happy to rent an independent room in a nearby B&B.


    SPRING/SUMMER:
    In warmer months (from April-May through to Sep-Oct) we can offer an independent accommodation in the original old schoolhouse 5km away from our town. There is a shared double bathroom, a big kitchen and huge rooms (which used to be classrooms), in summer we rent the rooms to travelling families and tourists, but the place is huge so there is lots of space. There is no modern heating in the building so it’s not really suitable for winter occupation but there are working tiled stoves which can be used for heating in Spring/Autumn before it gets warm outside. There is no internet in the schoolhouse, mind you, but if you need it badly, we can organise a dongle kind of thing quite easily.

    For anyone willing to stay at the schoolhouse we can provide a bicycle so they can move around independently.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can go for walks, cycling trips or go by bus to a nearby city Zamość, which is very historical and it has an amazing architecture. We can lend you our car occasionally or we can organise a trip somewhere together. During the summer season there is lots to do and see, it's easy to make new friends, too, but outside of the season you may want to get yourself a few books or borrow ours! :-) There are 3 restaurants where you could grab a beer and a pub. We have some friends who would be keen on meeting people from abroad and socialising.

    There is an option to organise an open meeting with a Workawayer in our local Culture Centre where people can come and learn about their country and culture, ask questions and exchange experiences. I have organised such meetings before for our friend from Ireland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 958382193983