Family looking to exchange cultures in a suburban town near Boston, MA, USA

Favourited 35 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


Contact Register


  • Description


    I am a nineteen year old girl and I live with my Mom, Dad, older sister (at university in New York), and very cute dog. My family and I live in a suburban town, which is twenty minutes by car/forty minutes with public transportation to the city of Boston. I graduated from high school in June of 2016 and I am currently taking a gap year before attending nursing school in September of 2017. My passions include, child care, animal care, art and crafts (collage, embroidery, and knitting), photography, baking/cooking, and being outdoors!

    I signed up for workaway because one of my passions is to experience new cultures and share my own culture through traveling. I was lucky to have met an amazing girl and her family from Italy! Her and her brother came to stay at my home for for two weeks during November of 2016. Then I visited her and her family at their home for two weeks during January of 2017. I am so grateful to have met her and her family because it has been an incredible experience to exchange culture. I would love to have more of these experiences, which is why I am searching for a person around the age of nineteen that would also be open to a cultural exchange.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help


    My family and I wouldn't expect for you to work much during your stay because hopefully I would be able to visit you in the future! We just expect you to clean up after yourself and help walk the dog. In addition, it would be great for you to help us learn the basics of your language and teach us how to prepare traditional dishes of your country.

    Most importantly, we want you to be part of our family and make wonderful memories 😊

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    You will sleep in a private room in our home that has a comfortable bed and plenty of sunlight. You will share a bathroom with me or have you own, which is downstairs. In addition, you will have full access to our kitchen, family room, TV, wifi, etc.

    I prefer hosting one person, but if you are two friends traveling together, I am open to discuss accommodations with you!

    We want to make you feel very welcome so our home is your home 🏡

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I will be available most of the time to explore Boston and surrounding towns with you! If not, I will be more than happy to help you understand how to use pubic transportation if my parents aren't around to drive you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My family and I are happy to help you improve your English and share our culture with you! You will see the beautiful attractions of Boston including, Fanueil Hall, the Public Garden, the Museum of Fine Arts, and many more. There are excellent places in Boston and nearby towns to go out to eat, shop, swim, and hike.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Me with my sister, dog, and the Italian siblings I hosted after decorating the Christmas tree together at my home in 2016
My dog in his dragon costume for Halloween of 2016
Me and my sister on Christmas of 2016
Me and my Mom on my birthday of 2016
Me and my family in San Francisco, California during the Summer of 2015
Me and my dog on my high school graduation day in June of 2016
Host ref number: 937526315237