Experince life on the arctic circle! Great food!

Country

Norway

Favourited 213 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    475

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!

    Please read whole profile and apply only if you are one person or a comitted couple(not a pair of friends) who are selfmotivated, reliable, flexible and have a positive attitude towards life. Experince from running your own household and good English language is a must. Experience from the service industry, as well as gardening/growing vegetables is a pluss along with languge skills in German, French or Spanish.

    When sending a request please confirm that you have read all the info and write a bit about yourself, your relevant experiences and why you would like to stay with us. We prefere people above 25 years old, who can stay a month or two. The first two weeks will always be a trial period to see if you will meet our needs, and if we all get a long well.

    We are a couple in our thirties called Magdalena and Magne (no children), who just bought a big house where we live and rent out two guestrooms. We also keep a few chickens, and at summer we grow a few vegetables. We live in Bodø, just on the arctic circle, meaning that we have midnightsun in summer and Northern lights at winter. But don't fear the klima. Summer temperatures are normally between 10-25 degrees celcius and at winter it is normally between -5 and +5 celcius. It rarly drops below 10 degrees and Norwegian homes are really warm and cozy.

    As both of us have fulltime jobs, it would be really nice to host a person or a comitted couple(not a pair of friends) who can help taking care of our guestsrooms, our chickens and our home in general.

    Magne is a geographer/social scientist and works as a konsultant at the state reindeer-herding management in Nordland county.

    Magdalena is a social worker/historian/social anthropologist and a cook. Currently working with youths at an activity center for people coping with psyciatric illness.

    We have a little bit of experience hosting workawayers (at our home/guesthouse and from when we were running an organic café). It is really great to lend out a spare room in return of some help. We are also experienced couchsurfing hosts and really enjoy having conversations with guests. So Workaway just seems to be the perfect deal to us right now, when we don't have time to do hosting just for the sake of hosting.

    Both of us also love traveling and have some solid experiences from studying, living, volunteering and working abroad in indifferent countries.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists

  • Help

    Help

    The main tasks will be cleaning the guestrooms, change bedsheets and do loundry between guests, and sometimes help us with check in and check out. As a member of our home you are also expected to participate in normal household tasks such as cleaning, shopping earands, cooking and washing dishes. Days with few tasks concerning the guests/guestrooms - generall houshold tasks will be part of your daily choirs.

    The tasks are very easy, but needs to be done with comittment and care. We are a rated as a five star homestay and we need you to help us keep getting five star reviews. In return you get a comfy room free meals and plenty of spare time to explore Bodø, which is a great Northern Norwegian town surrounded by beautiful nature.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you about Norwegian (and Sami) culture. If you wish Magdalena can alsio teach you a lot of great cooking and baking stuff.

    We love to cook quality food and spend time in nature. You will be welcome to join us for meals and depending on the season, we will be happy to take you hiking, biking, kayaking, fishing, foraging, or simply just to enjoy a cook out, a nice view or a bonfire on a natural beach

    We are hoping you will feel at home, and that this should be a reson to respect our daily routines. At weekdays we normaly get up at around 7 in the morning, go to work, then have dinner at around 5-6 and go to bed between 10 o'clock and midnight. We expect the house to be quite by 11. You'll be able to bring guests over but preferably not during the weekday evenings. No parties and no sleepoverguests unless this has been agreed on in advance. No drugs and only moderate drinking at the house. Smooking is allowed on balcony.

    There is no allowance, but you'll be treated like famiy and will be welcome to join us when we are going for activities such as eating out, moovies, picnics, swiming, kayaking, or small roadtrips. We also have an old but functional bike that you can use as much as you like, and a car which we may trust you with, if you proove to be a good driver and have the licence.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    fluently English, a little bit Italian and a little bit Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay at our home and we'll share the work and all facilities between you and the two of us. We will be renting out two bedrooms, a small livingroom and a bathroom to guests (maximum 4 people at the time). You'll be having your own private room in the basement with easy accses to a bathroom. We will provide all meals (normal dietary) and you are welcome to use our private kitchen our big livingroom and the balcony when ever you feel like it. You will have accsess to wifi, but you need to bring your own lap-top if you need a computer during your stay. There are also computers to use at the public library and the touristoffice i town.

    There aren't many tasks (maximum 5 hours pr day 5days a week) and in your sparetime, you'll be welcome to hang out with us, explore Bodø or spend time in your room. Whatever you prefere will be fine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bodø is a medium-sized Norwegian town, just above the artic-circle. This is where the Norwegian railroad ends, and you can also easily get here by plane or by boat. The town is surrounded by georgues natur like clear blue sea, white coral-beaches and peaky mountains. It is a great base for hiking, biking, kayaking, sailing, fishing, climbing or other outdoor activities.

    There are also a few nice cafees, bars and restaurants in town as well as some small galleries and a few museums. Bodø is also the best gateway to the famous Lofoten Islands, beutiful Kjerringøy, and the worlds fastest tide-water male-stream Saltstraumen. Svartisen glacier is also only a few hours drive away. If you enjoy spending time in nature, you will definetly enjoy Bodø!

    Our neighbourhood is a typical small-town suburb-looking residential area in the outskirts of the so called central area of Bodø. You'll be only 10-30 minutes (walkable distance) away from anything the town has to offer:

    Airport: 15minute walk

    Maskinisten (start point for different hike-routes including the easy accsessable Keiservarden, mountain-top with a 360 degree view): 40 min walk

    Bodøsjøen (outdoor museeum, path along the shore and a popular spot for picnics): 40 min walk

    The National Aviation Museeum: 15 min walk

    Nordlandsbadet & Spectrum Velvære, (waterworld and spa): 15 min walk

    Bustop with connection to almost anywhere: 5 min walk

    Different supermarkets: 10 min walk

    City Nord shopping area: 20 min walk

    Town center ( trainstation, ferry terminal, boat harbour, busstation, tourist information, library etc): 20 min walk

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 837889799678