Come help us with our unschooled children and visit a beautiful place in the South of France!




Bisher 57 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

  • Beschreibung


    Hello, we, Yvan and Amélie, have a small family with two children : Mahilo, a boy who was born in January 2011, and Aria, a girl who was born in September 2014.
    We live in Ardèche, a stunning place in France, and our small house is very close to civilization, yet surrounded with trees and a veeeery big garden. Rivers are not far away (a few minutes walk).
    We also have an old cat, a few new hens... and a brand new dog! :)
    I (Amélie) speak English and German quite well, and I'm slowly (but surely) forgetting what I used to know in Spanish. I have interest in ALL other languages.
    Yvan can speak English and Spanish.
    We are doing some works in the house, to make it bigger (all in wood and ecological materials).
    I usually work two days a week, except for summer : I work more at this time of the year, Yvan can be away for several days or weeks for his job.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will be able to learn about unschooling, gardening, French of course. And if you have lots of skills in these things, please teach us!
    I sing in several bands or choirs (polyphonic chants in lots of different languages), and the children LOVE live music, so if you like music and/or play an instrument, you are more than welcome! Depending on WHEN you are with us, you probably will get the occasion to watch one of the concerts I'll give with my bands, if you're interested (you don't HAVE to, of course!).
    Our region is very beautiful, and we can show you some awesome places, with rivers, mountains, forests or hills.

  • Arbeit


    Yvan often leaves home for several days to work, and I need some help with the children as I also work (only part time). Our children don't go to school and it sometimes is a real challenge to get organized, as Yvan sometimes gets a call for a job, and leaves on the same day or the day after (fortunately, this doesn't happen every time!).
    We'll need a gentle and patient person to take care of Aria and Mahilo; curious, keen to spend some time outside with them, maybe making some arts, games or walks with them. I'd love them to hear and learn other languages, but I understand you might want to improve your French!
    They love to meet new people (so do we!), they are very sociable and very good French teachers. They are very curious and passionate.

    Because of the extension of the house, there also are lots of things to do in the house, or around the house in the garden (we've lived in this house only since june 2017, so the garden (we are trying to grow our vegetables in a (more or less) permacultural way) is to be cared of (watering during summer) and made bigger, for the ones who like it, but it is not our main need.
    You probably will have to cook, but not everyday.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    French, English, German, Spanish

  • Unterkunft


    Our house is quite small, there is a room which is being built right now (so it's not finished yet, but it's very cosy), and a mezzanine (which means, it is not closed, although there is a biiiig curtain to "close" it).
    If you want more privacy you will be able to camp in the garden (it is very sunny during the summer, here!) and enjoy our house during the day!
    The food will be mainly organic and vegetarian (I'm the only vegetarian in the house, the others adapt to me - they are really lovely people, you'll see...).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    It is difficult to describe the way one lives. Our children are very alive, they love to meet people and they'll be glad to learn another language, or even to teach French!!! We cannot travel at the moment, so we'll be very happy to welcome somebody with a different culture.
    Before getting my children, I travelled in New Zealand, Togo and Bolivia as a volunteer, and I LOVED this experience. I also travelled through Europe, and lived in Germany.
    Yvan travels a lot (he works as a cameraman).

    We expect the person who comes help us to have a sense of responsibilities and initiative, to be open-minded and respectful. I really expect him/her to be firm AND gentle with the children.

    The house "feels" remote, but you can reach a few shops in three minutes walk, the village itself is 10 to 15 minutes walk from the house, and the next town, Aubenas, is about ten minutes by car. We go there quite often (more than once a week), and there are busses that go there anyway.
    The well-known river "Ardèche" is about 5 to 10 minutes walk, and there are plenty of other rivers that are less known, but also less polluted and as beautiful (or even more!).
    If you like sports like kayaking, swimming, climbing, or sun-bathing, you'll be happy here!

    During your time off, you'll be able to just share our day-to-day life with us, or to do things onn your own, it'll be up to you!

    We're looking forward to get to know you!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 797513824294