Be part of our rewilding community in mountainous Maine, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    626

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our community has experienced a recent infant death as well as a family moving away. Due to these circumstances, we are not currently accepting workaway volunteers but this should change in the near future.

    Our community is located on 150+ acres of forest in southwestern Maine. We are the only residents in the mountain valley we live in and so we are surrounded by hundreds of acres of forestland to hike, hunt, and gather food from. Our fairly new community is centered on hunting and gathering our food (e.g. acorns, wild rice, deer) and practicing ancestral skills (e.g. hide-tanning, friction fire) and every day we are slowly working toward separating ourselves from industry. There is a beautiful brook running through our land with clean drinking water and a lake one mile from our land.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our community is centered on earth-based skills and we are excited to share these skills with you! We have two botanists living in the community with extensive knowledge about wild edible plants. My partner, Arthur Haines, is skilled in many primitive skills: foraging, friction fire, bow-making, brain-tanning, fiber arts, tracking, and plant medicine. Arthur also practices and teaches Brazilian Ju-jitsu and he would be happy to share that practice with you. As for me (Sara)… I can share restorative yoga and various primitive skills. Our community also makes mead, gardens, produces maple and birch syrup, crafts spoons, and all sorts of other stuff.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love help preparing food, constructing primitive structures, building our non-profit organization, canning food, and harvesting wild food (fishing, hunting, gathering). We welcome your creative mind to imagine new projects on this land so you can work on what you feel passionate about (so long as it makes sense for our vision of this community). Our routines vary depending on the season and the work but we generally have a shared task (hauling maple sap buckets, weeding the garden, creating buckskin clothing, organizing/cleaning a communal room, etc.) and a shared meal each day. We welcome all ages and genders and would especially love people with children!

    Our work within the community is not strict. We want people to honor their bodies and minds needs on each given day. As long as you are feeling nourished, we would love it if you can help us for a few (3-4) hours a few days a week. One day you may be harvesting wild greens and singing songs with the community and the next day you may be helping us shovel pig shit onto our garden… who knows. ☺️

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For the colder months, we have a room in our communal house and we have a small cabin with a wood stove for visitors. For both summer and winter, we can provide blankets, pillows, and sleeping pads. The communal off-grid house located on the property has a laundry room, root cellar, kitchen area, living room, and two shared bathrooms with showers for you to use. Our home is gifted with energy from the sun so when the sun is not shining we try not to do laundry or take showers. We also have Internet access in the main house. It is not Wi-Fi but a modem to connect to with an Ethernet cable. Cell service is fairly spotty depending on your carrier but there are certain spots on the land that receive cell service well.

    We are also able to provide one large shared meal a day comprising of wild and/or local, organic food. We eat wild harvested food as much as possible when those gifts are available to us. The rest of the time we eat 100% grass-fed beef and lamb, pastured birds, local produce, raw dairy, fermented foods, sprouted grains, sprouted nuts, and chocolate. We may also be able to provide additional food for meals depending on the season (wild food availability and garden production) and arrangement between the community and volunteer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of beautiful spots nearby for hiking, fishing, swimming, rock-climbing, canoeing, archery, and skiing. The Appalachian Trail, Sunday River Ski Mountain, and Grafton Notch are very close by. We have at least one community car available that you may be able to drive or we can provide you with rides. You are always welcome to join us on any excursions and often there is one community member leaving the land each day that you may carpool with.

    Nezinscot Farm is 20 minutes from Canton and they sell organic food and prepared meals in their café on the weekends. This farm also has felting and knitting classes going on throughout the year and music playing events twice a month. Axis Natural Foods, an organic grocery store, is 35 minutes from the house along with some good restaurants in Lewiston/Auburn (Bates College is located here). Portland is an hour away as are various ocean beaches. The town of Canton is fairly rural (population is ~800) and consists of a post office, gas station, playground, and lake with a beach.

    The community hosts a Baby & Me playgroup twice a month for mommas to bring their children (ages 0-5) to the land for some chilling and some nature based activities. We also host a Women’s Circle once a month for women to share magic, sing, talk, and eat chocolate.

    Some nights our community members share amongst one another what they have been working on or thinking about. This may look like us all sitting on cushions on the living room floor watching a documentary on the projector, someone reading us a short story they wrote, a member sharing new knowledge of a recently met butterfly, a member guiding us in a group lesson of the Passamaquoddy language (indigenous language native to Maine), or whatever manifests within the community. You are welcome to join in on these group nights if you feel called to and you are more than welcome to share your own passions with us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Approx. 3-4 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 719321843414