Horses, gardening, kids, and home with French/American science and literature lovers just outside Paris, France

updated
Country

France

Favourited 546 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    40  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    371

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️We just recognized a need for a workawayer overlapping May to June, ideally for a minimum of two weeks. Please apply!*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️

    Welcome to The Cute House! We're readers, animal lovers, and science fanatics with three kids, two cats, two horses, and a dog in a little country house 60 km to the east of Paris. We've taken on a crazy house renovation project, combining two adjoining houses (built 40 years apart) into one house with an adjoining guest area. The guest area will often be used as a writer's retreat once the renovations are finished. As a fiction writer and journalist, I'm excited about hosting some retreats here in our beautiful village on the Canal de l'Ourcq that leads into Paris.

    Renovation work is on pause for the moment, thanks to the great work of your predecessors!

    I need some who's happy to clean the horses' stall--about 20 minutes of work a day--and feeding them throughout the day. I also need help with the kids--entertaining them but also driving them around to their various daily activities in a *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️stick-shift car*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️ or accompanying them on public transportation.

    Artists and musicians are especially welcome, as we enjoy guitar, keyboard, piano, and ukulele time in the evenings, and each of us has a form of visual art in the family. Depending on the tasks and the number of workawayers we have, we often take turns cooking evening meals. It's always fun to discover new tastes and dishes from around the world!

    We like to have a nice blend of workawayers, because that makes it more fun for everyone. :) We try to vary the nationalities so that workawayers can meet new people from around the world at The Cute House.

    We're happy to teach you what we know and learn what you have to teach us. We can offer you a beautiful room to stay in, in a peaceful home (no TV noise) that's a 40-minute train ride away from Paris. We live in the quiet outskirts of a cute village, where there are ample opportunities to discover the natural beauty of the area. We can also offer very interesting cultural discussions!

    Please note we are a bilingual French/American family, and we speak mostly English at home. Also, as our home is under renovation, it's likely you'll be exposed to dust at some point. This workaway experience is not suitable to people with dust allergies or animal allergies.

    We're very curious and enjoy meeting new people and hearing your stories!

    We'd love to hear from you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're in a beautiful village less than an hour away from Paris, France. You can learn about French culture and language, visit the sights of Paris, and talk science and especially astronomy and animal science for hours.... all while perfecting your building and painting skills!

  • Help

    Help

    The strenuous building and gardening tasks are essentially done now! Sorry, the great body building opportunities in our backyard are almost over! :) Outdoor tasks mainly involve shoveling manure out of the way and help with keeping the barn clean.

    We have two delightful children, ages 14 and 9, who just need someone to pay attention to them and come up with creative activities for them while Mom works nearby or at home, or is absent on business trips. I'd be particularly grateful for help with kid-taxi service, so if you can drive a stick shift, please let me know! *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️Please note the car has a manual transmission, so it's important to specify if you can only drive an automatic!*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️

    Our oldest daughter, who is 20, lives at her school in Toulouse during the school year. She won't be home with us very often except for summer holidays, unfortunately! But when she's here, it's even more fun.

    Anyone who loves to cook and do grocery shopping is especially welcome! We'd love to have a cook. I can cook and teach you French, American Southern, and Tex-Mex cooking. But I like having days off from cooking, too.

    General non-mud-related tasks with the horses include brushing them and giving them lots of love, food, and attention, and keeping their barn and paddock clean. Riding is a possibility but only for experienced riders.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can have a bedroom in our 1932 meuliere stone house or the 1967 "Sister House" with full access to the house and large garden with fruit trees, a vegetable garden, and of course the horses ;) We usually have dinner together as one big family in the evenings.

    We frequently host more than one workawayer at a time--which can be fun for the volunteers, too, to get to know each other! Please let us know if you agree to a shared room (separate beds) with another volunteer of about the same age, or if you prefer to have your own room. As our project advances, so does our capacity to host volunteers. :) Who knows, you might be making your own room!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Work times and days are flexible, depending on our needs. So you can take some time to discover Paris or the Feline Conservation Park or even Disneyland, or follow the many hiking paths nearby or go on long bike rides to discover this pretty region along the Marne river. This is also a major WWI and WWII history site, and there are museums, monuments, and military cemeteries all around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours/week

This little guy's working his way through Harry Potter. Stella and Titania help him with the big words.
The kids love going on outings with their big sister!
The kids are 13 and 8, and they really enjoy discovering new places and people!
The Cute House and the Sister House!


























Host ref number: 667829834577