Looking for some help to tackle my garden in Lochailort on the west coast of Scotland

Favourited 73 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    61.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register


  • Description


    Having recently renovated an old house it's now time to tackle the garden and the outbuildings, and I need some help.
    The land covers a couple of acres, on two levels, uphill and up another hill...
    I try to garden organically and hope to grow vegetables enough to eat and supply the village shop. I have a polytunnel ready to go but need outdoor beds prepared.
    The remainder of the garden needs restructuring.
    There's a ruin that needs some attention before the stonemason comes..
    The help I have in mind would suit a fit person, as there'd be quite a lot of lifting and shifting, and mostly that involves the hill...
    I would welcome singles or couples or possibly small groups
    I have a dog, and would welcome dogs but the area has sheep which roam so care would have to be taken against sheep-worrying. I have no other livestock but actively encourage wildlife and the area is a bird-watcher's paradise

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance

  • Help


    I need help with all kinds of things.
    Everywhere I look there's things to be done...

    There's paths, tracks and gates to be improved,
    fencing against deer and rabbits,,
    ditching, digging, gathering seaweed for the garden
    looking after vegetables and polytunnel
    some concreting, weeding and chopping wood.

    There's trees to be planted and rubbish to be cleared.
    There's a mountain of things that need to be somewhere else!
    There are several stone outbuildings to be cleared prior to restoration.
    Building with pallettes.. Carpentry skills would be useful
    Some of the help would be quite heavy and the steep hill can be challenging for the less fit.

    I am not a hugely confidant cook but if volunteers didn't like my cooking then they would be welcome to do their own cooking and help fewer hours... I'm sure we could come to some arrangement whereby nobody goes hungry!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (some) German (a little)

  • Accommodation


    A 3- bedroomed caravan, with amenities including shower and electricity, kitchen/living area.
    No tv, 3g but limited wifi

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is quite stunningly beautiful when the sun shines! and even when it doesn't it's pretty spectacular
    There are loads of things to do here if you like the great outdoors.
    There's eagles if you look up and dolphins if you look out to sea, deer if you look to the hills

    There's a sandy beach close by, water sports, Ben Nevis in striking distance, boat trips to the inner and outer Hebrides, walks galore.

    There is a small community shop, which sells just about everything, and occasional gatherings in the village hall, which also hosts some quite big and small musical events.

    There is a bus to town twice most days and the nearest train is 8 miles. The shop is a 5 minute walk away.

    The nearest good pub is by the train station and hosts good music

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The village I live in prides itself on its community spirit and welcomes visitors. ~It lies just off the Road to the Isles, the road from Fort William to Mallaig on the west coast of Scotland. From its shores there are views to the Inner Hebrides and the Cuillins of Skye.
    There are endless walks to stunning beaches and wild mountain paths
    The land to be worked is ancient farmland fallen into disuse and has glorious views out to sea and onto the hills. 200 people lived in the village once, now we are barely 40..
    This is a timeless magical place, steeped in the history of Scotland.
    Vikings, the Jacobites, the Highland Clearances, castles, ruins .. it's all here and an interpretive History House open in the summer months

    If English is not your first language I could offer help with improving language but would hope for more than just basic English . (I speak some Spanish and German)

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

This caravan is not the accommodation!

Host ref number: 665961394696