Looking for some kind animal-loving helpers on our small horse farm in northern Brandenburg, Germany

Favourited 86 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    19/11/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    54

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family of three, my parents Steffen (67) and Dagmar (52) and me Steffi (26), that lives and works on a small private horse farm in a little village located between the big cities Berlin and Hamburg. The four legged part of our family consists of six horses, two small dogs and two cats.
    We train our horses with positive reinforcement (clickertraining) to do Horse-Agility with us, which is a lot of fun for horses and humans. In the future we plan to offer Horse-Agility-Camps so children and grown-ups can experience this fun way to spend time with horses and learn about positive reinforcement as a great, non-violent way to comunicate and work with animals.
    We really enjoy living with and caring for our horses, but because of them we have almost no possibility to travel and explore the world. So we hope you come for a visit and bring some of the world to us.
    Please contact us if you have questions or are interested in more information. I will try and answer all messages I get but it may sometimes take a few days.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Like on every other farm, we have always a lot of different work to do. It ranges from little to big construction and building projects as we keep renovating our house and improving the farm to picking weeds or mowing the lawn. But mostly it will be help with our horses, including cleaning the pastures from manure, cleaning the tack and tack room, grooming the horses and and of course training them through positive reinforcement to do horse-agility.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have a big tent all for yourself. It is big enough to fit a comfy bed, so no sleeping on the ground :-).
    Bathroom and kitchen and meals will be shared. It would be great if we could cook and prepare meals together.
    While we have only need for one grown-up workawayer, there is also place for one or two children up to the age of 14. You can also bring one small to medium well behaved dog, that is friendly to other dogs, cats and horses.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beside from exploring the countryside and just hanging out on our farm enjoying the company of horses and nature, you could go and visit the big cities Hamburg and Berlin (both approximately 2h with train) or take a trip to the baltic sea. Altough public transportation is rare in our village it's no problem to drop you off at the train station next town and pick you up later. And if you want we could sometimes make trips in the surrounding area together. Especially interesting for horse people may be a trip to one of our big German State Studs: The State Stud Redefin in Mecklenburg and the State Stud Neustadt (Dosse) in Brandenburg (where I did my apprenticeship) are both only about one hour away from our place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Aside from learning german or improving your language skills, you can learn a lot about horses in general and especially about how to train them, using positive reinforcement.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

On our way home. At the right side of the picture are our house and stable hiding behind the trees and hedges.
The (not so) secret "junior boss" on our farm. Steffis beloved Miniature Australien Shepherd girl Mahjong.
Steffi and the two horse boys Argus and Arik
Some landscape
Exploring the neighborhood with our young mare Ayva.
Enjoying pasture time.
Our horses and ponys.



Host ref number: 589772731686