Help needed with children & housework in Yorkshire!

Favourited 553 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    05/06/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    156

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I wanted the kids to see the world, but it would be hard to travel alone with all three of them... I thought Workaway would be a cool way to bring the world to them! We've been hosting Workawayers for a couple of years now and met many wonderful people along the way.

    A little about us: I'm a single mother with three children, aged 9, 7 and 5. I work from home for an emotional support website, so I'm always in need of extra hands to take care of the children and keep the household running smoothly.

    The children are home educated, so they do not attend school. Instead, they learn from life, experiences and play. I want you to share with them any skills or knowledge you have. They love music and creativity!

    Preference will be given to Workawayers who have previous experience with children and those interested in longer stays.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    YOUR RESPONSIBILITIES:
    🔹Supervising and caring for the children while I'm working from home or going swimming.
    🔹Cooking simple meals and including children in the process (where possible) to help them learn cookery skills!
    🔹 Keeping the house clean and tidy.
    🔹Taking the children on outings to the park or museums - expenses covered by me (optional).


    YOUR PERSONAL QUALITIES:
    🔸 Positive, open-minded and easygoing
    🔸 Independent, proactive and resourceful
    🔸 Patient and calm under pressure

    SCHEDULE:
    We will agree on a clear, written schedule together that will not exceed 25 hours per week. Many of our Workawayers have preferred to work 3 full days with the children and then have 4 free days - this gives you more time to go and explore if that's something you're interested in!

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The children will ensure you improve your English by chatting with you constantly! We also sometimes play silly word games together while we're eating dinner.

    We live between the cities of Leeds and Bradford, and you can easily access either city by bus. There are free museums to visit and also beautiful countryside nearby, or a short train ride away. It's a 20 minute walk to the small town of Pudsey, where you can stroll around the park, or stop for cake in the cafe.

    You'll also get to experience first hand what life is like in a single-parent family, and learn about alternative education methods.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own bedroom in our home and unlimited wi-fi access. If you bring a laptop or tablet, you can also have access to our Netflix account, which has hundreds of movies and shows.

    We can accommodate 1-2 people in a shared bedroom - please note, this is a small room!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Located between Leeds and Bradford, so you can easily access both cities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Workawayer bedroom
Walking, near where we live.
Kitchen (left), Lounge (right).
Making a gingerbread house. Christmas 2015.
Old and new Workawayers from Catalonia. 2016
The street where we live. Drawing with chalk!
Previous Workawayers at the local park with the children.






Host ref number: 572159451632