permaculture and experimental project in a big house on Ré island. France

Country

France

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    354

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    58.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey workawayers !

    We are Dorian and Axel, two great housemates since one year building project together. We are willing to set up a permaculture and experimental project in a big house on Ré island this summer. We'd like to welcome foreigners and good vibes in this place and share this moment with us. We need help to improve this place in exchange of leaving there. For that, everyone is welcomed, even if the garden is quite wild, it is also quite spacious and could host a camp and hammocks.
    Axel will continue to work on his Artwork and probably set up an exhibition, along with some work of Dorian, friends, and every free-spirit that feel like it. So it will be very often present in the place but involve in his own artwork. Dorian will continue to be involve in some community project on the mainland, and will be at least present in the morning and evenings. Dorian and his father are growing a biodiversity of plant in the garden and it require some work to maintain because we couldn't keep up with the gardening this last year.
    We are trying to leave in harmony with the world and ourselves so we are most interested in conscious livestyle, permaculture, art of any kind, low pollution lifestyle, modest consumption, respect of the other being...
    We would like to share with you all the facilities of the commons, we some attention to put on things of course. Sorry we can't offer you meals in this project. The idea is to share the meals together and that everybody contribute to the food be you can store what you need/like in the fridge. We will provide the kitchen with rice, condiment, veggies,... and we are happy to share everything as long as your are involved in the harvesting/ (good deal-) hunting/ (dumpster-)diving/ cooking/ groceries shopping... We are very tolerant with every food practice except maybe eating ultra- processed food that are toxic for us and the planet. We are very tolerant in general and our only one rule is respect.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could learn french and we could share our culture very simply through the knowledge of gardening, and opened-mind discussions around a fire. We are passioned about art (psychadelism !), plant ( edible, sacred, curative,...) and music ( we have tones of record :D ).

  • Help

    Help

    Take care of the vegetable garden, preserving the nature, bring foods, cook and just maintain the place with us in an easygoing atmosphere
    There is some specific work to do this summer : paint the walls of the kitchen and some room, take down some tree ( sorry for them, but there are invasive species, and we will use their wood for heating/cooking); tidy up the garage to set up a functional workshop (their is many tools you can use to do your own project), their some bike to repair, some small work to improve the house ( electricty, plomber work, ... ) . The contribution you can give to the house and the community will depends on your aspirations and skills! There is always lot to do in this house and expect to be working around 2/3 hours par day. Of course you be able to organise the time as you want to provide also of the place and this part of the world !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, french and spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are few beds available, but you can also sleep in a tent or under the stars. Things we'll see together how you'd imagine your accommodation and with that, make a camp with second hand things and recovery materials.
    For food ; An open space for food sharing for the diner, big meals and plates... grilled fishes or big stoved vegetables in a wok !

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have some bikes you can use to go around the island, the sea is at sight, and we are 10 min walk to the center of the village, were during summer there is restaurant, bars, farmers market, post-office, and many tourist. Because yes this island is very touristy, it can be a bit crazy some time, beware of considering driving to the continent or back on some saturdays, there is traffic jam on the bridge. 5 minute walk down the street, there is the most important patch of forest of the island, pretty wide wild and quiet. There is many sites to see in the island and i will learn you about the best places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.3)







Host ref number: 551447235717