Uma experiência na mata, num sítio familiar perto do Rio de Janeiro, no pé da Serra Verde Imperial

Country

Brazil

Favourited 170 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    535

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    [Please respond to host in Portuguese]

    Come and work with us in the middle of nature, just an hour and a half outside the city of Rio de Janeiro, at the beginning of the Serra Verde Imperial, with the noises of the woods, away from the noise and mess of the city! You can take papaya, lemon or coconut for breakfast in the morning, swim in the pond with the fish, or walk in the forest to try to see monkeys or maybe a sloth or a toucan.

    We are a Brazilian / Scottish couple with a 1 year old son. We lived in a small place in the forest near Guapimirim and Teresópolis five years ago. Anderson is a northeastern, organic producer, and artisan who makes arrangements of plants using macrame and natural materials such as bamboo and coconut. Bryony is Scotch, has lived in Brazil for more than 8 years, and works with an NGO.

    Our site is a forest mix, planting area and ponds for fish production. We use organic techniques and we have an organic certificate. When possible, we try to use permaculture techniques, but we are still learning about it. For now our production is small, but we want to increase this.

    We like WorkAway because we find it a great way to meet people who think like us, who share new ideas, and who like to exchange experiences and learnings. We do not always get volunteers - it's more than once to help with specific projects. For example, we have already received volunteers who helped with: building a bamboo fence, renovating our kitchen, renovating a volunteer home, building a planting area, and clearing a path through the forest.

    We do not have much time left, so we need volunteers who already have experience in this area, and who are good at working alone, with an orientation at the beginning but with little constant monitoring. We also need volunteers who can communicate in Portuguese.

    Our next project is to clean and prepare an area for planting sweet potatoes and pumpkins, and we need people who already know how to use agricultural machines (such as brushcutters and tractors). After that, the next project will be setting the ponds for fish production.

    We have 2 dogs that live on the outside and do not enter the house. We play music (guitar, blast and piano) and we love it when other musicians come to visit us. And we like to visit the waterfalls nearby, to recharge from time to time!

    *️*️*️*️*️

    Venha trabalhar conosco no meio da natureza, somente uma hora e meio fora da cidade do Rio de Janeiro, no início da Serra Verde Imperial, com os barulhos da mata, longe do barulho e bagunça da cidade! Pode pegar mamão, limão ou coco para café de manhã, nadar na lagoa com os peixes, ou caminhar na floresta para tentar ver macacos ou talves uma preguiça ou um tucano.

    Somos um casal brasileiro/escocês com um filho de 1 ano. Moramos num sítio pequeno na floresta perto de Guapimirim e Teresópolis há 5 anos mais ou menos. Anderson é nordestino, produtor orgânico, e artesão que faz arranjos de plantas usando macramê e materiais naturais como bambu e coco. Bryony é escocêsa, mora no brasil há mais de 8 anos, e trabalha com uma ONG.

    O nosso sítio é uma mixtura de floresta, área para plantar e lagoas para a produção de peixe. Usamos técnicas orgânicas e temos um certificado orgânico. Quando for possível, nós tentamos usar técnicas de permacultura, mas estamos ainda aprendendo sobre isso. Por enquanto a nossa produção é pequena, mas queremos aumentar isto.

    Nós gostamos de WorkAway porque achamos uma maneira bacana para conhecer pessoas que pensam como nós, que compartilham idéias novas, e que gostam de trocar experiências e aprendizagens. Não constumamos de receber voluntarios sempre - é mais de vez em quando, para ajudar com projetos específicos. Por exemplo, já recebemos voluntários que ajudaram com: construindo uma cerca de bamboo, renovando a nossa cozinha, renovando uma casinha para voluntários, construindo uma área para mudas e plantas, e limpando um caminho pela floresta.

    Não temos muito tempo sobrando, então precisamos voluntários que já tem experiência nesta área, e que fiquem de boa trabalhando sozinhos, com uma orientação no início mas com pouco acompanhamento constante. Também precisamos de voluntários que conseguem se comunicar em português.

    Nosso próximo projeto é limpar e preparar uma área para plantar batata doce e abóbora, e precisamos pessoas que já sabem usar maquinas agriculturais (como roçadeira e tratorito). Depois disso, o projeto seguinte será ajeitando as lagoas para uma produção de peixe.

    Temos 2 cachorros que vivem no lado de fora e não entram em casa. Nós tocamos música (violão, sopro e piano) e adoramos quando outros músicos vem nos visitar. E gostamos de visitar as cachoeiras por perto, para recarregar de vez em quando!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about rural life in Brazil, living in a place and meeting some friends or neighbors of ours.

    You can practice Portuguese, learn about organic planting, meet other forest plants (we are learning about PANC at the moment - unconventional food plants), and we can share what we have learned so far about permaculture.

    We can share some Brazilian music, and other artisan techniques like macrame and sewing.

    *️*️*️*️*️

    Você aprenderá sobre a vida rural no Brasil, morando num sítio e conhecendo alguns amigos ou vizinhos nossos.

    Pode praticar o português, aprender sobre plantio orgânico, conhecer outras plantas da floresta (estamos aprendendo sobre PANC no momento - plantas alimentícias não convencionais), e podemos compartilhar o que aprendemos até agora sobre permacultura.

    Nós podemos compartilhar umas músicas brasileiras, e outras técnicas artesenais como macramê e costura.

  • Help

    Help

    There is a lot to get involved here, but the main activity that we want volunteer help is to clean and prepare an area to plant, and to maintain areas already planted. This involves using machines such as brushcutter and tractor, and tools like stuffed, and we need people who have experience and confidence with this work.

    Other activities you may engage in include:
    *️ ️️️ finish building the area for seedlings and plants
    *️ ️️️ banana tree maintenance
    *️ ️️️ cleaning in general, around the houses and the paths through the forest
    *️ ️️️ production of macramê hangers and other materials such as bamboo or coconut
    *️ ️ take care of the baby and the dogs for whom you are interested!

    *️*️*️*️*️

    Há muita coisa pra se envolver aqui, mas a atividade principal que queremos ajuda de voluntarios é limpar e preparar uma área para plantar, e manutenção de áreas já plantadas. Isto envolve usando maquinas como roçadeira e tratorito, e ferramentas como enchada, e precisamos pessoas que tem experiência e confiança com este trabalho.

    Outras atividades em que você pode se envolver incluem:
    *️️️️ acabar a construção da área para as mudas e plantas
    *️️️️ manutenção de bananeiras
    *️️️️ limpeza em geral, ao redor das casas e dos caminhos pela floresta
    *️️️️ produção de hangers em macramê e outros materiais como bamboo ou coco
    *️️ cuidar do bebe e dos cachorros para quem estiver interessados!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay inside our house. But also has plenty of room to camp if you have tent.

    *️*️*️*️*️

    Você ficará dentro da nossa casa. Mas também tem muito espaço para acampar se você tem barraca.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We want people who are hardworking and able to work with the minimum of guidance but also who enjoy what this area offers. We are very flexible about the days and times to work - you can stay for a while, take a trip and come back later if you want - just exchange an idea with us.

    Our lifestyle: We wake up early and start working early, before it gets too hot. And we usually go early too. There is no one who cooks or cleans us, so everyone does their part. We do not follow business hours (Monday-Friday) - every day is days for us. But if so, this means that any day can be a day of rest, play music, or visit a waterfall too!

    What can you do in your free time? At the site, you can swim in the pond, walk in the forest, or rest in a hammock with a book. You can walk 20 mins to the river, or 30-40mins to the village for a cold beer. You can take a bus from the village to visit waterfalls. More distant are the cities, and there are buses for them too ... Guapimirim (17km), Teresópolis (36km) and Petrópolis (62km). From these cities you can find companies that organize tourist activities such as cycling, hiking in the mountains, and visits in the Serra dos Orgões National Park, with the famous Dedo de Deus peak.

    *️*️*️*️*️

    Queremos pessoas que são trabalhadores e que conseguem trabalhar com o mínimo de orientaçõ, mas também que curtem o que esta área oferece. Estamos bem flexíveis sobre os dias e horários pra trabalhar - podem ficar um pouco, fazer uma viagem e voltar depois se quiser - é só trocar uma idéia conosco.

    O nosso estilo de vida: acordamos cedo e começamos trabalhando cedo, antes que esquenta demais. E normalmente deitamos cedo também. Não tem ninguem que cozinha ou faz faxina pra nós, então todo mundo faz sua parte. Não seguimos horário comercial de trabalho (segunda-sexta) - todos os dias são dias de pra nós. Mas sendo assim, isto significa que qualquer dia pode ser um dia de descansar, tocar músia, ou visitar uma cachoeira também!

    O que você pode fazer no tempo livre? No sítio, pode nadar na lagoa, andar na floresta, ou descansar numa rede com um livro. Pode ir andando 20 mins até o rio, ou 30-40mins até o vilarejo para tomar uma cerveja gelada. Pode pegar um ônibus do vilarejo para visitar cachoeiras. Mais distantes são as cidades, e tem ônibus para elas também ... Guapimirim (17km), Teresópolis (36km) e Petrópolis (62km). Destas cidades podem encontrar empresas que organizam atividades turisticas como andar de bicicleta, trilhas nas montanhas, e visitas no Parque Nacional de Serra dos Orgões, com o famoso pico Dedo de Deus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day / 5 days per week

Volunteer house
Planting corn and beans
Macrame, bamboo and coconut plant hangers that we make
Outdoor swimming pool at the local bar
This is Gaia
Our house, nestled in the forest
The front varanda at our house
A nearby waterfall that we can take volunteers to, for an energising swim
The big fish lake at Tanques de Trocas, beside the camping area, and beside where the new bamboo Centre will be built.
The back varanda of our house: a future project, to paint and renovate this back varanda area





Host ref number: 498739175151