Help us to transform our home into a yoga and seaweed centre in Reine on the island of Moskenes, Norway

Favourited 276 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    07/11/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1324

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    These are skills we are especially looking for:


    Summer 2017: Aug/September:
    Help with the tourists season. Room rental, welcoming and being in service for guests and cleaning rooms.

    October, November and December:
    Carpentry
    Electrical
    Drywalls and painting
    Activity for Sverre, and help to keep the house organized and clean.

    Welcome!

    My name is Runhild and I live with my son Sverre in Reine. We are working on transforming our new home into a yoga and seaweed centre, and temporary home for adventurous spirits. This summer we are renting out rooms on Airbnb, to finance the second part of the renovation project.

    In the end of September, we will close the house for guests, and focus on working on the last leg of renovations in the house and preparing for turning it into a retreat/workshop center.

    If you're looking for a great place in Norway and are strong in the following skills please send us a message. For the summer we are also looking for a person that can be a dedicated to do activities with Sverre. We have a little wooden boat, and live close to the football field.

    This place was originally build to be the landlords home, but later on it was used as the town hall of the beautiful little town of Reine in Moskenes, one of the south islands of Lofoten.

    It is located next to the bus stop and ferry to Vinstad and Kjerkfjord. It is 5 km from the ferry connecting Moskenes with Bodø. It is also right next to the local café, restaurant and convenience store, as well as kayaking and diving centres. It is on the doorstep of many great day hikes, museums and the most spectacular scenery in Lofoten.

    The house is a three-storey building with 10 bedrooms. The ground floor is currently in the process of being transformed into a yoga studio.

    At the moment the house has the shower is in the cellar. The kitchen is fully equipped with a beautiful view overlooking the fjords. There is also a common lounge with an open fireplace.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    Our vision for the summer is to make our home a working hive to finish the yoga studio, get the rooms ready for rental and start the work with the Dining room/restaurant. The tasks that need most attention are as follows:

    Finishing the yoga studio
    o Moldings around the windows
    o Installing three doors

    Art library/lounge
    o moldings roof.


    Dining room
    o Work with drywalls
    o Moldings around the windows
    o Building av desk

    As autumn is getting closer we will keep on renovating the rooms..

    Rooms
    o carpenting work
    o remove linoleums floor
    o sand floors
    o work with drywalls
    o painting


    Fixing the veranda
    Rendering the outside brick work
    Gardening

    If you don’t feel so hands-on you are also welcome to help with cooking and looking after Sverre. We share these tasks, and live as a little family here. Having a driving licence will be useful, but not essential for our future volunteers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Nowegian and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house has 10 bedrooms equipped with beds and linen. Depending on the number of volunteers it is possible to have individual space wintertime, but in the summer workawayers have to share the room. The beds are new.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helping out a few hours each day still gives you plenty of time to explore the natural beauty of Lofoten.

    Our home is vegetarian- friendly, and welcomes openhearted and caring people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have been hosts for one year now, and we have had amazing helpers from all over the world. It has truly been a year of expanding for both my family and the house. The workawayers have impressed me deeply, as beautiful souls, great contributers and new friends for life. I am also so grateful for the fun and help my son found - so thank you all!

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

From a bridge, water is clear. Often you can see the small back fish or the bigger cod as a contrast over the white sand. If you like diving (or free diving) there is a diving centre ca. 20M from my house. Diving is one of my hobbies, I am an rescue diver so I can recommend diving here.
There are beautiful beaches on the Moskenes island. Here you see me in the beach of Bunes. You can take the ferry, (ca 50 meter from my house) and a short and easy hike of 30-40 minutes to get there. The water is cold and clear, and an you can se om the picture - delicious seaweed is groving every where! (Here you see fresh Nori and the green Virgin necklace). I am a kayak instructur, but I have not had so much time paddeling lately. May be if anyone could look after my son, I could take you on a guided tour.
The sky is changing all the time - in the winter you got all the colors and in the summertime sun always shine 24h, or giving you beautiful moments of the weather.
The livingroom in the 1.floor has a fireplace. The best place to stay if the weather do not invite you to a hike, diving, paddeling or any other sightseeing :-) If you play a music instrument we would love to make a summeband. I have a gitar in the house.
The Yoga room ..we will be fixing the walls, sanding the beautiful floor and build a new sealing. I hope to also get a door (there use to be a door there before) out to the garden, and to make a fireplace (where the old one was) So I need someone with good carpenterskills, but also strong hands and the skill of painting.
The view from the veranda of the 2.floor. ..This will be one of the jobs I need help with, fiksing the floor (the roof of the entrance) because it has a small leak. When we fix it, it will be a great place to have a barbeque or just enjoying the sun and nature.
The view from the small veranda of the kitchen in the 3.floor. The name of the mountain is Olstind. As you can se the stockfish still hanging for the dehydration, the air is fresh, clear but have this smell of fish.
A family of five orcas having a great meal in the cold arctic waters :-) Last year there vere a lot of orcas visiting Reine, also this year we have had at great visit all ready.
By the small boat harbor, great place to start a kayaktrip in to the Reinefjorden, visiting the beautiful beach Bunes or Horseide of the Moskenes island.
Help me to make a yogasenter out of the old townhall in the beautiful Lofoten island, the village of Reine.







Host ref number: 497747926526