Join us enjoying a self sufficient lifestyle in a beautiful corner of Herefordshire, UK.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We grow our own food: vegetables, proteins, fruits and herbs on our 1.5 acre field, We nurture the land by using permaculture, organic and biodynamic techniques, managing a wildflower meadow, laying hedges and using a scythe to cut grass. We nourish ourselves by eating what we grow and making our bread, jams, wines, preserves, ciders, sorbets and sauces. We nurture ourselves and others by treading lightly on the earth. We have created a carbon neutral home, using only wood and the sun for our energy needs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a self sufficient lifestyle in a beautiful corner of Herefordshire. We grow our own food (organically and biodynamicaly) & make our own bread, jam and preserves. We run a carbon neutral home, burning logs from local woods & generate solar electricity.

    We practice permaculture and are currently studying the subject,not through a course but from the land itself. We also practice and study biodynamic growing in the same way, using not just the moon calendar but also the various formulae available, including a homeopathic remedy for our compost heaps and septic tank!

    We grow a complete meal with proteins from plants, starches throughout the year and of course vegetables of all kinds. You could call us a vegan small holding. We grow between 35 and 40 different types of vegetable. We experiment with a wide range of unusual plants including growing quinoa, amaranth, chickpeas, lentils, oca, tree spinach and goji berries as well as a whole variety of 'normal' vegetables and fruits.

    Yolande and Andrew are well seasoned travellers who have volunteered around the world. We have a low-impact, sustainable lifestyle and philosophy by growing our own food and trying to re-use, recycle and reduce non bio-degradable waste. We also try to use as much natural energy as possible to heat our home and water such as solar panels and wood. And, because we have a septic tank - we use home made natural cleaning products. Therefore, we ask people who live in our home to join us in living a low-impact lifestyle.

    Yolande and Andrew are avid foragers so you are very welcome to join us, and also help us make homemade breads, preserves, wines and ciders.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who can tend the garden. Sowing, planting out, harvesting, weeding and general maintenance, We're really experimental in what we grow and how we grow it so it would be a great experience for somebody into that sort of thing. We have a few projects this year including building a kind of yoga/relaxation platform in our woods, building a Japanese garden in our back garden and setting up some swings from boughs of our trees. And if you can help around the house that would be even better. We are happy to train you and it's good fun!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would share our house and our lifestyle, be part of our home.

    In exchange for 5 hours a day for 5 days a week, the Workawayers have access to:
    - three vegetarian meals a day (if you want to eat meat – you will need to buy your own)
    - comfortable furnished bedroom
    - large kitchen with 8-burner range, cupboards and fridge
    - washing machine
    - good sized lounge with comfortable sofas and log-fire
    - large outdoor patio area
    - plenty of off-street parking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is situated close to many local walks, cycle tracks, ancient woodlands and the River Wye so it would suit someone who enjoys being in nature. Please note we don't have a television. However, we do have unlimited broadband. Depending upon your network, mobile phone reception can be problematic.

    Also, please note that we are not on a public transport route. The nearest shop is 3 miles away. And, because we live in the countryside, there is no street lighting or light pollution. Howle Hill is a very quiet neighbourhood.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 479821869855