Volunteer with an English speaking family in Poitou Charentes, South West France

updated
Country

France

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/02/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    We live on the site of an old Mill house, south of the Deux-Sèvres, Poitou Charentes, South West France. It is a beautiful property, on 2.5 hectares surrounded by the Sompteuse river on one side and fields on the other. We have a horse and a shetland pony (Indy and Isis), hens, a sheep (Beryl), a goat (Mabel), 7 hives of bees, our dog (Jack Russell) called Mulligan and our cat, Rocket.
    It is a large house - 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a large kitchen and 2 large living rooms. Anybody coming to stay would have their own room and bathroom.
    We have 3 daughters - Meghan is 24 and currently living in Vietnam, Roisin is 22 and is just completing her Master's degree in Lille and Rhiannon is 18 and in University in Poitiers.
    My husband David is currently renovating a property locally into rentable accomodation and I teach French (to local ex-pats) and English to businesses and individuals in Niort.
    David spends a lot of his free time in his polytunnel and vegetable plot, as well as general maintenance around the property. When I am not working I like to spend time on the property, either gardening or looking after the animals and I'm also a member of the gym in Melle which I frequent as often as I can. We are both keen cooks and enjoy using our own produce to create delicious meals :)
    We are in a very rural environment, so there is not a huge amount of social activity. We do have some good friends, both French and English, and we enjoy entertaining when we can.
    Helen

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Help

    Help

    The priority at the moment is preparing the vegetable plot and polytunnel for planting. We don't need any specialist skill, just energy and an interest in growing and being outside!

    David also requires occasional help with his renovation project, again no specialist skills required but you need to be physically able.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English in the house but french also spoken when French friends around.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As I said before we have a large property so anyone coming here would have their own large bedroom and their own bathroom. You would be part of the household, eating and living with us, but there is plenty of space to get away to do your own thing if you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport from our village and the nearest town is 9 km away (the market towns of Chef Boutonne or Melle). From there, there are buses which will take you to Niort, our nearest large town. La Rochelle and Poitiers are also within commuting distance.
    We have numerous bikes at your disposal, however to make the most of your stay here and enjoy some of the local attractions it would be better to have your own transport.
    There are regular markets throughout the week and numerous other sites to visit nearby.
    It is a very peaceful and tranquil place, and would suit someone who enjoys country life and what that has to offer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Rocket
Mulligan
Indy
The 5 of us enjoying a meal out
A view of part of the village
The kitchen, looking into one of the living rooms
Our home!
The mill stream





Host ref number: 474315896895