Visit beautiful Victoria, British Columbia, Canada and interact with guests from around the world

Country

Canada

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    317

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Operating a number of guest spaces on my property in James Bay I am looking for an assistant to help my co-host, Stephanie, run the property while I am away exploring Europe in my Westfalia for the year. The start date for this opportunity is Feb 15th, 2019.

    Fully booked most of the year with visitors from all over the world, my house is a 10 minute walk from downtown Victoria, ocean views and many other attractions which is why guests love staying here. With tons to offer in the way of festivals, gorgeous walks, whale watching, hiking, biking, swimming, boating etc.. Victoria is the 2nd most popular city in the world to visit. If you decide you want to work with us you will understand why.

    For the summer the accommodation is my wonderful Volkswagon Van which has a queen size bed. dresser and TV if wanted. My van called Vinnie Vango is parked in a special spot in front of the house facing the garden. When I am living in Victoria for the summer months this is what I call home.

    In the winter I am offering a cozy micro space in our large back yard with WiFi ; TV and cable; hanging room for clothes as well as a small dresser; small coffee machine, kettle, Brita water container; infrared heat for cooler temperatures; a comfy chair with a footstool to relax in and the most comfortable bed you will ever sleep in!
    I have rented this wonderful space to many appreciative visitors in the summer months.
    The back yard has vegetable and flower beds that help create a wonderful oasis especially in the summer, a BBQ our 4 kitties who have their own Catio home. We are also dog friendly and have had great Danes to little pocket puppies visiting with guests.

    The person who chooses to be here will be assisting with the day to day running of the property which includes cleaning and preparing guest spaces for new arrivals; Interact with guests; Feed and take care of the kitties, clean the catio area (and of course cuddling!) as well as watering the gardens and helping Stephanie with other necessary things.

    Of course there is access to our full kitchen, washer and dryer, shared bathroom with a shower in the main house and a a car to drive when needed as well as a bike to use. The hours will be a minimum of 4 hours a day and perhaps more if required or less depending on how many rooms need to be cleaned.

    I believe this is an amazing opportunity to interact with people from all over the world while learning how to run a hospitality business.

    I would prefer people that choose a healthy lifestyle as being up early is important. There is no smoking (of any kind) on the property, for those that wish to smoke there is a bench at the front of the property.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to experience Victoria and surrounding areas as well as interacting with wonderful travellers from around the world and have the fantastic opportunity to learn how to run a vacation/hospitality business. Spring/summer and fall are gorgeous on the island and there are so many events during tourist season to enjoy. In the winter things slow down and it is more relaxed and time for personal work.

  • Help

    Help

    This is a very busy rental and there can be room turnovers daily.

    Guests sometimes leave early and we like to do the rooms as quickly as possible to be ready for the next guests. The work is easy and it entails making beds, housekeeping, detail work in the rooms like filling coffee, taking out garbage etc (as running a house). Not hard work yet you must love making beds and cleaning. Running and operating the property is a combined effort and working with Stephanie is pure joy.

    The veggie gardens will need to be watered and the front yard and pots of flowers will also need to be weeded. Oh and I make delicious brownies every few days which are really easy as it is a mix. I am sure there will be things I have forgotten (we will of course train you) yet I find I can do this job in about 4 to 5 hours a day. I go to the gym daily as well as playing pickleball and riding my bike and find I have a ton of time for all my activities, you will as well.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the summer we rent out the hut and the living space is Vinnie Vango, my 1991 VW vanagon, which has a huge queen bed. There is the opportunity for a tv and of course wifi. When i am in Victoria for the summer this is where I live.
    In the winter months the space provided is a 10 by 10 hut which is tucked in a corner of the back yard. It is private, really comfortably furnished and as stated above you will have the use of the house for cooking, laundry and the bathroom. Again the bed is absolutely amazing! Our biggest complaint from guests is that they sleep too long ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Very conveniently located while still a safe, peaceful residential area, historic and eclectic residential James Bay is a short stroll to Ocean views, Fisherman's Wharf, Royal BC Museum, Empress Hotel, Beacon Hill Park, downtown Victoria as well as many other points of interest and many amazing pubs/bars and restaurants.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Varies

Front of our property with its lovely garden that is lush all year round
The hut is nestled in our large backyard and offers many garden goodies and flowers when in season
Inner Harbour Sunset - We are a close and lovely walk to picturesque downtown Victoria
Ogden Point Sunset- Also a close walk by are many ocean views and beach walks


Host ref number: 467763191363