Join a lovely, creative family in Somerset, UK for work, play and peace

Favourited 556 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    14/11/2017

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello all you wonderful people. We are experienced workaway hosts who provide a welcoming, peaceful and creative home and delicious food (please see our feedback). We have a happy, creative, beautiful home and we would love to share it and family life with a helping guest. We are creative people - Ben a writer and Honor a painter. The kind of work we have at the moment is:
    *️️️️️️️️️️ washing up and laundry
    *️️️️️️️️ general help around the house
    *️️️️️️️️️️ help with the kids (help with music -guitar, piano and ukelale - and sport always great)
    *️️️️️️️️️️ gardening work
    *️️️️️️️️ painting

    If you like the sound of us and you are fun, hard-working, imaginative, and independent and you like children then please do send us a message.

    It's a beautiful time to be in Somerset - apple season, changing colours, misty mornings, beautiful walks. If you're in the midst of a big adventure, our home is a nourishing place in which to re-charge and plan the next bit.

    We find it works better for the children to only host people with a good level of English. Sadly, we only have space for one person at a time so we cannot take couples. And sorry, but we can't take smokers. We also try to keep screen-based stuff down with the kids so we might not be the right place for massive gamers or online socialites!

    If you're interested and want to find out more please get in touch and we can chat on Skype.

    Happy adventuring and maybe see you soon!

    P.S. We have a Workaway guest with us at the moment so you could talk to her to find out more about us!

    P.P.S. We have the world's sweetest and most affectionate dog (a non-moulting cockapoo)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We have:
    *️️️️️️️️️️ general help around the house
    *️️️️️️️️️️ helping with the kids (help with music and sport always great)
    *️️️️️️️️️️ gardening work

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Japanese, some Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A quiet, little bedroom to yourself. It's small but everyone sleeps well there and the rest of the house is big.

    Wireless internet connection

    Shared bathroom, a huge kitchen and lots of living space. Outside, there is a big garden and fields and woods for walks or runs.

    Food is homemade, delicious and plentiful. Most of our fruit and veg are organic and we eat meat/fish 2-3 times a week, Top cakes.

    We have a lovely (non-moulting) dog.

    No smoking please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ours is a large, very old and beautiful house in the middle of the countryside. There is no public transport to the village but we can give lifts to the lovely market town of Frome, from which you are in easy reach of world heritage city of Bath, Bristol, Glastonbury, Wells, Stonehenge, Cheddar Gorge and Bradford-on-Avon. London is about 2.5 hours away either by train or there is an excellent coach service. We also have a bicycle at your disposal.

    If you want city lights and widescreen TVs this might not be the place for you but if you'd like quiet, country living in a beautiful house with a loving, creative, busy family then this is it!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We all love meeting new people and hearing about their lives and cultures. We offer plentiful conversation and treat our guests as a member of the family. There are lots of beautiful places to visit nearby and we can help with transport etc.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day with two days off per week

My Photo Album















Host ref number: 444712863579