A place for learning to belong to the earth ... helping hands welcome in the mountains of central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Marko, 33 years old, originally from Austria. I live in Portugal since 7 years.

    I am living on a small mountain farm dedicated to "learning to belong to the earth"

    I have been rebuilding and reviving an abandoned quinta over the last years, now things are slowly getting ready ....

    I have got a website but workaway does not allow to mention that here ... if you get in touch I can send you a link.

    I used to study biology, was a yoga teacher, learned to be a carpenter and about woodland crafts and art, I am in love with simple, rustic living and making things with my own hands, endeavoring to live saner ways and learning how to belong to a place.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a mostly self taught carpenter and run woodland skills and craft courses, I have quite some permaculture experience, sometimes I worked as an off grid living consultant, ... If you spend some time here and are interested I think you can pick up quite a few useful things ... please check out my website to see what I am about

  • Help

    Help

    It would be good to have more than two hands for building structures, gardening, cooking, maintenance, land clearing for the sheep, replanting burned woodlands, help with events, etc ... all kinds of things, depends a lot on the situation and person.



    Step by step I would like to grow more on the farm and have more animals, so that a lot of food comes from here.

    The most important thing is that you love living in simple, rustic ways, working with your hands on the land, in the woods, hearing the stream in the valley, cooking in an outdoor kitchen .... because sometimes living like this can be a bit tough and rough.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, german, portugese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    guest room with stove or other indoor accommodation. shower, washing machine,, low speed internet. food is simple, healthy and tasty, I am not vegetarian but I can provide a vegetarian diet, organic food when possible , all food is cooked on rocket stoves in a (well sheltered) outdoor kitchen

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's a very nice mountainous area here. Last autumn we had a very big wild fire burning the entire region here, so now there is lot's of work to do to move on. Part of that is transforming some of the burned hillside to sheep pastures and replanting other areas.

    I live in a beautiful site, off grid, 15 min by foot to the next village with one cafe, nice for walking in the hills and valleys, with a great community of people in the villages around.

    Currently I live alone (with a mad cat named after Conor Mc Gregor - we are good match ... I am a bit mad too)

    I want people who come here to be interested to be of help. At times you will work alone.

    I have a good selection of books available about woodwork, permaculture , building etc .

    I think it is a good place to take some time in a powerful landscape, to tune into simpler ways, to slow down and connect to the earth, but not necessarily very entertaining for people who are easily bored.

    I always like to have a Skype call with people before they come.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 417833326143