Help out on our family farm situated in the beautiful Rondane Mountains, at the border of the national park, Norway

updated
Country

Norway

Favourited 440 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    218

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please read the entire profile before sending us a request. The reason our reply rate is so low is that we get too many messages from people asking to come at times when none is needed, or from people who obviously wouldn't fit in with our lifestyle. Reading everything carefully will benefit both us and you.

    From april/may 2019 we could really use the help of someone skilled with chainsaw, clearing saw and wood chopping machinery. Not someone who would really like to learn it, but someone who knows what they are doing. We are fixing cabins, rooms and boats for rent, and the scenery around this could use some touching up. Abd for that part we need a lumberjack. Cuttting down trees, big and small, and clearing branches and shrubs. A nice side effect of this is firewood for the next winter, which has to be chopped and packed.

    So, we are looking for someone with the following qualities:
    -Skilled with chainsaw and wood chopper.
    -English as a first language.
    -Able to do tasks independently.
    -Knows how to clean the floors once in a while.

    You will be in the middle of the mountains, perfect terrain for hiking, skiing, fishing, and other outdoor activities.


    We will teach you what we know about nature in Norway, shooting, hunting, and fishing. We will probably make you watch Game of Thrones if you haven't seen it. If you don't like black coffee, you will learn to appreciate it.

    The personal connection is important for us, so please tell us as much as possible about yourself and your expectations.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Some of it require heavy lifting and hard labour, some of it ingenuity and a willingness to learn. Whatever your talents may be, we have something you can help us with.

    You don't need much previous experience, it's more important for us that you're just a nice, decent person who is able to learn and willing to work alone on some of the tasks.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm has been in the family since before 1850, and is now owned and run by the 7th generation. We also have cabins and rooms for rent to tourists. The family consists of Ola (father), Einy (mother), Irja (2012) and Håkon (2014). Situated in the Rondane Mountains, at the border of the national park, we have some of the worlds finest nature and wildlife literally just outside the door.

    The diet is heavily meat-based. We hunt moose, beaver, roe deer and reindeer.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian and English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single bedroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like hiking, fishing, or anything else related to nature, this is the place for you. We have cabins in the mountain you can use, and boats for fishing trips. The grocery store is a ten minute walk, but the nearest small town is 45 minutes by car. We're both hunters and sports shooters, and try to get out of the living room a much as possible. Not that we're any good at it (at least not Ola), but we're trying.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Rondane seen from the farm.
No, it's not a church. It's the "stabbur".
Rondane in the background.
Some of these guys stay home during summer.
Late night view of the lake.




















Host ref number: 336342234686