Caretaker couple wanted for Small fairytale castle in Loire Valley, France.


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate


  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days


show 2017

  • Description


    Hello! Bonjour! Bienvenue! Friendly & Mature Couple Wanted for small Fairytale Castle in France
    We are an Anglo-American couple with one teenage daughter, 1 loving Samoyed dog, chickens, 2 ponies, 1 gentle horse, a goat and fish. We are relaxed, flexible, trustworthy and friendly, and look for caretakers who share these same qualities to replace our much-loved current couple (who are moving on after a wonderful lengthy stay). We love to play music (guitar, piano & harp), cook & experiment with the amazing local foods on offer at our many markets, and travel (which we do frequently & often for long periods at a time, hence the need for live-in backup).

    Available Dates: Immediate Start for a long-term stay (3 months to 1 year)
    Mature COUPLES only (sadly no children or pets), please!
    Ideally should have own car, though --if not-- must have valid driver's license.

    Our chateau is a 150-year-old neo-Renaissance fairytale-style castle (with turrets!) on 10 hectares of land in a region famed for its history and beauty. As it is neo-Renaissance (1850s) and not medieval, it is in remarkably good condition. All of the rooms (4 main rooms + 7 bedrooms) are in a very good state of repair as we have undergone a process of renovating and updating the chateau since its last restoration in the 1970s. However, it regularly needs cleaning, gardening and general maintenance.

    The chateau operates as a family home, occasionally hosting parties and events, and also features a holiday cottage on the grounds which is rented during the summer months. The chateau is located in an idyllic location in the Western Loire Valley of France, and is only 2km away from the nearest town with everything one could want: supermarkets, bakeries, butchers, bars, even its own racecourse. The nearest city is 15km away, and features a high-speed train connection. We are only 1.5 hours SW of Paris by train (soon only 65 minutes). We are also equidistant to all of the castles of the Loire Valley, Mont St. Michel, the Normandy Beaches, and Brittany, as well as many attractions locally.

    The region is very hospitable, and we try to be as well! If you have pleasant and relaxed personalities, good handyman or farming skills, appreciate cleaning to a high standard, enjoy the outdoors and gardening, and have fluent English-language ability, you may be the couple for us.

    If you are looking for a beautiful French adventure and think that you might fit our requirements, please contact us! We'd love to hear from you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Help


    -Are Mature in Age and/or Attitude;
    -Trustworthy, very discreet and reliable
    -Have own car (though not a deal-breaker if you have clean driver's license)
    -Are physically fit and strong;
    -Have a relaxed ‘can-do’ attitude and initiative;
    -Enjoy smiling, being flexible and creative problem-solving
    -Have perfect spoken English;
    -Love animals;
    -Enjoy the challenges of housekeeping, gardening and cleaning to a high standard;
    -Have a keen interest in France;
    -Love to travel;
    -Love the outdoors but do not mind helping indoors;
    -Have had some experience in renovating, farming and/or hotel tasks;
    -Get along well with each other and enjoy working together;
    and, are very discreet, pleasant, and undaunted by the exciting challenges that a new country can offer.

    Each should have a clean driver's licence and no criminal history (will be checked).

    Also, drinking-habits must be moderate and bear no impact on work or personal relationships. France has wonderful wines and ciders but it's easy to get carried away!

    It is not necessary that you speak French, but an assertive attitude toward getting out and getting things done, plus an interest in picking up a few key phrases is very helpful.

    The duties are 4.5 hours per day, 5 days per week, Tuesday- Saturday (summer) or Monday-Friday (winter). Generally the hours are 9:30 am to 1:30 pm., leaving the afternoons and weekends free for enjoying France & the property. One additional 1/2 hour in the evening is allotted for animal care, such as walking the dog. The duties are generally divided by day: one day gardening, mowing the lawn, etc., the next day special projects, the next general housecleaning... Saturday is changeover day for a small cottage located on the grounds of the chateau which we let occasionally during the warmer months to British holidaymakers. In winter, the hours may be adjusted to suit the weather, and the tasks revolve less around the holiday-cottage and general gardening, and more around special projects such as chopping wood, planting and weeding, painting windows, etc.

    This is not a paid position but a very rewarding volunteering-holiday arrangement with a food supplement. The fully-furnished apartment, plus all bills such as electricity, water, gas, and internet are covered by us.

    It is important that both have travel insurance in case of illness or accident. If one has any particular skills or talents, either artistic or practical, we definitely encourage this creativity.

    Interested candidates please send CV, PHOTOS and REFERENCES in your profile.

    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (our 1st language) & French

  • Accommodation


    Within the chateau is a lower-ground floor caretaker apartment with its own entrance, sitting room, large separate bedroom, kitchen, English satellite TV, WiFi, and bathroom with Jacuzzi-style bathtub. On the grounds are woods with paths for nature walks, a small private fishing lake with canoe & its own island, and a walled garden featuring a pool, a rose garden and two orchards. Unless we have a special event taking place, the caretakers are free to use all of the grounds.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunites

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunites

    France is a magnificent country and we are very proud of the region in which we live. Art, culture, music, food and magnificent scenery combine to create a truly magical environment. Learning French and immersing oneself in local culture is an exciting challenge. Contributing to the upkeep of a beautiful and historic property is extremely rewarding, and then being able to live in this very property is a delight! We are constantly in awe of how lucky we are to live here. On a personal note, we have made some exceptional friendships through our Workaway experiences, and we are very sad to say "goodbye" to our current couple.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    20-25 hours per week


Photos of the Chateau

These are a couple of photos of our chateau. It is such a lovely, romantic place...some of our caretakers never want to leave the grounds!

Click images to enlarge

Arial View of Property
Host ref number: 314682254c9a



This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.


This Workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private.


We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.


This Workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private.



We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.


Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts