Help at our yoga lifestyle space in Playa Potrero, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 1368 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1970

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there! Thanks for stopping by. My name is Harriet and my husband Adam and I operate a yoga lifestyle space here in Playa Potrero, Guanacaste, Costa Rica and we could always use some help in a variety of ways.

    We've had several great Work Away guests come through since we began in April 2017 and we'd love to continue that positive experience. Our ideal Workaway'er is kind, thoughtful, respectful, in tune with themselves & others, loves both dogs & cats, is intentional, follows through on his/her commitments, listens well, mindfully communicates his/her needs, and does his/her best and is self-motivated. This means after receiving directions, he/she can manage their time effectively in order to accomplish all that needs to be done, and if there’s not much to be done, create ways to add to the space. :)

    We have a 2 week trial period where we both feel each other out, and after that, we see where things go and have had some work away volunteers here for upwards to 4 months and it was awesome. But we’ve also had some leave at the two week mark or sooner, which is all part of the learning process. Sometimes it’s just not a good fit; sorta like a blind date where you don’t feel much chemistry if that makes sense.

    The Sanctuary space itself is located an hour outside of Liberia, Costa Rica, and that's the closest airport as well. The town where we live is called Potrero, and it's quiet, small and has a local vibe. Did I say quiet? I mean quiet. The Sanctuary is a gated complex about 3/4 of an acre big, with a pool, a yoga rancho and 6 units. We used to operate out of the entire space, but currently, as of March 1st, we only have two of the units, which means we live in 1apartment and have one 2-bedroom space for Work Awayers while we build our new home and yoga studio just a few minutes away.

    Just to get to know us a bit; Harriet is a young 41 year old, a yoga instructor and massage therapist and she owns a day spa/wellness center in Park City, Utah, where she's from. Adam is a 33 years old, and is a wizard, scientist, shaman and master of the Now from North Carolina. We had a baby girl Aurora May on March 8th, 2018 and she's part of the reason we love having help here. We enjoy keeping our energy focused on her, and we also love keeping the flow and vibe high around the space. And that’s where you come in.

    To uphold our standards of cleanliness and care for our environment, we have a housekeeper who comes 4 days a week to help, so additional hands to help with the dogs, cooking & preparing the yoga space helps everything run more smoothly. Finding Work Away has allowed us some much needed flexibility in our lives, and gives some lucky Workawayers a great space to call home for a bit.

    The property is large, and we have 6 dogs, 4 cats, and a yoga community that's small but intimate, and plenty of home improvement projects and daily maintenance tasks available. This means you'd be helping with stuff that includes but isn't limited to: doing laundry, helping with the animals, helping us with our daughter for small chunks of time, helping prepare and cook some meals, tidying up during the day, helping care for the yoga space, helping prepare space for yoga class, upkeep of the yoga space and help walking, feeding and hanging out with our animals, especially if we leave town for a few days. There are some days when there's little help needed and some days feel a little busy if there's a project or an event, so balance always works itself out.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    We particularly love work aways who teach yoga because having a baby means Harriet just teaches 2 classes a week. Teaching yoga helps you integrate into the community here and there is room to make a little cash from teaching, so that's a fun bonus.
    *️️*️️*️️
    In exchange for your time helping us, you'll get a private bedroom, in a shared two bedroom apartment, with another Work Away. By mid to late June, we hopefully will be moving to our new home, where we will have private apartments available again for Work Aways. The spaces all have everything you need to cook, a furnished bedroom, a stocked bathroom and a loungey open-air porch with free wifi to pass your time in. You'll also have access to the pool, laundry and free yoga. When you check-in, the apartment is ready to use with toilet paper, soaps, paper towels, clean sheets & towels, and you're welcome to draw from our inventory of cleaning supplies, toilet paper and paper towels during your stay.

    NOTE: Mid to late June into July is MOVING TIME so it will be a busy and important time here, so we prefer having men or couples, so if you're applying during that time, please know that.

    This is a quiet, self reflective opportunity, best for someone who knows how to be alone, can make the most of their moment, go adventuring on their own or entertain themselves.

    A summary of our DREAM LIST of qualities:
    Loves dogs and cats
    Enjoys people
    Handyman/woman
    *️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️Teaches yoga
    Enjoys cooking and sharing the art
    Likes to clean, or doesn't mind it
    Is great with babies and is cool with hanging with Aurora here n there
    Is organized
    Is good moving around computers & technology (Harriet would love help with a website/blog project)
    Knows graphic design
    Is social but not a partier
    Is a little tech savvy with cameras and gadgets

    Please know that we typically do NOT plan more than 3 months out, as we like existing Work Aways to be able to stay longer if they so desire.

    Thanks for taking the time to read this far, and we look forward to connecting.

    Love,
    Harriet

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'd be living in a high vibrational healing space
    Hang out with us, and I think we're pretty wise and fun
    Our animals are awesome
    Our yoga community is fun & funny
    Access to the BEST quiet beaches in Costa Rica (Playa Penca & Playa Prieta)
    Gorgeous sunsets

  • Help

    Help

    1. House help (laundry & tidying up)

    2. Keeping your own space tidy and caring for and cleaning the common spaces.

    3. Help walking and feeding the dogs & cats

    4. Cleaning and preparing the yoga space before and after every class

    5. Help with projects that come up

    6. 2-3 times per week, help us prepare a meal for just Adam and I, that you're welcome to share at no nost.

    7. Hopefully teaching yoga if you're a yoga teacher.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll get a private bedroom in a shared apartment with 1 other Work Away or Work Away couple. The space has a bathroom, kitchen and outdoor deck. After June or so, we'll be in our new space and will have private spaces available again.

    Internet access available in the rancho, but it's weaker in the apartment

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nice hiking in the area
    Fun restaurants within 10 min drive or hitch hike
    Cute coffee shop 5 min walk away
    Quiet beaches nearby to calm the spirit
    Biking
    Surfing a 10 minute drive away
    Complimentary Yoga
    Tamarindo is 30 min and it's a popular tourist town

    Lucky you ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    18 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 311738675223