Experience the Icelandic farmlife in front of Eyjafjallajökull

Favourited 658 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    24/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 26 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a horse breeder located in South Iceland, 150 km away from Reykjavik and 5 mins drive from Skogáfoss. In Iceland, we have only 1 breed of horses and they have lived isolated in Iceland since 1000 years ago, making it one of the purest breed in the world. It is illegal to import horses to Iceland. The Icelandic horses are hence very special and one of a kind. This makes Icelandic horses a very popular choice and you can see them in many countries in the world today.

    The farm is isolated enough for you to experience the tranquility & serenity of Iceland´s nature. At the same time, it is also in a prime location of all the amazing attractions along the South Coast. There´s majestic mountains, dramatic black beaches, magnificent waterfalls, a nearby town all within driving distance.

    The majority of my horses are outside all year, but I also have a large stable where I keep 30-40 horses inside during the winter time, and my neighbor borrowed space to keep 30 of his young cows/ bulls inside.

    I have 3 children, all grown ups (they live in the city) and 3 grandchildren.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    Must have experience with horses, or keen and eager to learn about horses.

    Daily tasks involve feeding twice a day and riding/ training horses.

    Other tasks involve miscellaneous tasks like repairing of fences, painting, stable work, cleaning, basically just being an extra hand occasionally.

    Here are a lot of tourists coming to stay for a night or two, so it will be a part of your volunteering to help me with the rooms, make breakfast and help me with the organization.

    Volunteers should be willing to stay for a minimum of 3-4 weeks but it will be better if you could stay longer. Volunteers who intend to stay for a longer time (for months) are preferred. This way, you will be able to learn more & own a fuller experience of the farm life in Iceland.

    There is room for 2 volunteers in the summer, so there is usually at least 1 other volunteer around.

    As I do not smoke myself, I would prefer that you´re a non-smoker too. However, if you do need a smoke, you are free to go outside (The farm is a huge place :)

    If you are a keen & open-minded learner, willing to try your hand at new things, you will surely get to improve your riding skills and even life skills, leaving my farm with a fuller experience.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Icelandic, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My house is very cozy, spacious and tidy. There are 5 bedrooms, kitchen, living room, 1 bathroom and an extra toilet space. I have a million dollar view of Eyjafjallajökull and that´s just from my kitchen window.

    You will get a private room to yourself, tidy and clean, with a comfortable bed. However, in the event that there are guests and more space is needed, you may need to share a room with another volunteer (same gender) temporarily.

    Access to the whole house facilities/ amenities (kitchen, dining table, common living room, internet, bathroom, shower, bathtub, washing machine, tumbler).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The South is probably the most popular area for tourists in Iceland.

    (Just to name a few popular sites) Along the coast, there is the Golden Circle, Town Selfoss, Eyjafjallajökull, Skogarfoss, Vik, Skaftafell National Park, Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon.

    You can take walks, hikes, go horse-riding with my horses.

    The Atlantic Ocean is within walking distance as my place is located very close to coast.

    This would be a great opportunity to experience a different culture from your own perhaps, and live like an Icelander once in your life.

    P.S
    About transportation from Reykjavik to my farm, there are a few options
    1. Hitchhiking
    2. Straetos Bus

    (Route 51 from Reykjavik Mjodd to Skogar where Skogarfoss is and I will pick you from there)
    3. Or if I am in Reykjavik to visit my family, I could offer you a lift

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days a week

My Photo Album

My workawayer, Selina with my mare, Brúða
A very good day when all the stars were aligned and my horses did me proud That day, I brought 3 horses (that I breed) to the competition and they all went home with 1st prizes in more than 1 category
Photo taken by my workawayer, Lucas Torres from Spain
My mare, Álfrós, was chosen as the most elegant horse in a competition organized by the horseclub, Trausti
Snæi & Prins
Snær (in Belgium now) & Alfinnur (in Sweden now)



Host ref number: 194767955535