Looking for help in Alentejo, Portugal we need help in July due to a cancellation

Favourited 658 times

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    69  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    17/08/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    32

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    We are recently retired and now live on a 3ha organic farm in Alentejo, Portugal. We are in the early stages of setting up the farm and so have lots of jobs and long term projects that we would like to acheive. For this we have decided that we do need some help to develop. We have pigs, sheep, turkeys, hens, ducks, tortoises and dogs. We grow most of our own food.

    We are in a very beautiful and rural area and you can develop the Portugese language with help from the locals who do not speak English!

    We are an hours drive inland from the Algarve and just 30 MILES from the stunning west coast beaches. Our village has one bar and the next village which is 4km away as a small supermarket.The village is very very quiet with very little nightlife so please don`t come thinking you are coming to a tourist resort. This place is for people who like being in touch with nature, and enjoy being apart from big cities.


    The farm is a working farm and at times is dusty or muddy depending on the weather so working boots and working cloths are essential. If you ARRIVE without proper WORK BOOTS you will be asked to LEAVE as this is a serious health and safety issue. Our working day is usually from 7.30 until 1830 yes long hours(often this is just feeding and cleaning the animals but we do have plenty of breaks). If you require to do just the 5 hour days as workaway says this is not a problem just speak up and we will set you 5 ish hours work then you can do what you want. We do go to local shows ,markets and events and you are always welcome to come with us. I am afraid that we are not the busy resort on the coast so please make sure you read and study our profile before contacting us. Our nearest big town is Ourique which is about 19 km away. If potential workawayers book to come and stay with us and then do not arrive for what ever excuse (think we have heard them all now!!) especially the one about grandad being seriously ill and you can not leave your family at this time, have had this one three times so far this year.Please note that we will give you a bad report, as this is just bad manners and totally inexcusable on your part. Once we have accepted someone we do not give back word or not turn up to meet you!! If you find this offensive then you are probably this type of person! If you do not find it offensive then you are the one for us!! (Reliable).

    PLEASE also note that we are very involved with stray dogs. We have kennel accommodation on our farm and have dogs here awaiting new forever homes in Germany. These dogs are fed and watered and walked and socialised ready to go to their new homes. Sometimes we have a litter of puppies that also need socialising, its hard work but also very rewarding to know that you have been part of a team that has helped these dogs get a good and loving home.
    WE MUST ALSO STRESS that we are passionate about all of our animals and their care is of the utmost importance to us. When you are asked to care for any of them we expect you to do it properly, if you are found NOT to be doing everything properly after being instructed. You will be asked to LEAVE!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to help us with general day to day running of our farm such as feeding the animals, weeding, planting, grass cutting, pool maintenance, dog feeding and possible animal minding for the odd day off. We feel we have a lot to offer and although there is plenty of work to do the emphasis is on fun too! We have 3 dogs that live in the house and are very loving but the dogs are our children and so if you are not dog friendly we are probably not your best choice. If you love dogs ours always love you back.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    accommodation is offered in a large 6 berth touring caravan with out door kitchen and bathroom facilities or a basic room in the upper lodge (with views to die for)
    We do have WiFi available

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    .We would like to point out that whilst you are staying in our home we will provide three meals a day with drinks but if you go out either on our own or with us you are expected to pay for ALL food and drink that you have. We think this is fair as if you are out and about you are not working for us and it should be your resonsibility to provide for yourself. Also anyone who does not stop the full time that you agree to for what ever reason apart from death will have to make their own way back to the bus station. The reason for these two notes are some every inconsiderate helpers who came with the idea of getting what they can and them saying " their mom had died and they had to leave." only to be found two weeks later on the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours a day help on one project or as stated in profile

Photos


My Photo Album


Feedback






































Host ref number: 174129376231