Stay in the Sierra Nevada near Granada and help us! Spain

updated
Country

Spain

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an artist/musician couple with an 8 year old daughter called Alma and a brand new 1 year old daughter, Elara.
    Carmen is Spanish from the coast of Granada and Tom is Scottish from Edinburgh.
    14 years ago we bought a ruined village house with some land in the mountains of the Sierra Nevada in the province of Granada, Andalucia.

    We have worked hard restoring the house every winter, whilst travelling and working on our music and art in the summers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Village itself is a cultural experience, full of fantastic characters and eccentrics and a good community feel.
    We Speak Spanish on the whole when we are there, but are also fluent in English, so we can help with anyone wanting to improve their Spanish or English.
    Also you will be in the company of a musician and an artist, so we can share skills and encouragement in these fields.

  • Help

    Help

    Now that we have finished the main work on the house, we are shifting our labours to a charming piece of land that has not been touched for 30 years. Restoration of this will involve clearing of undergrowth, rebuilding of drystone walls that support the terraced fields, restoration of irrigation systems and water storage tanks, planting of trees and construction of a roofed and floored outdoor space for yoga/art/music workshops.

    Both of us are bi-lingual (English/Spanish) and happy to facilitate language exchange. We offer food and lodging in return for 5 hrs work per day 5 days per week.
    We were initially asking for help with building and permaculture gardening, but have discovered in the last 10 months that looking after 2 daughters, our business and our household is all-consuming, and we have no time to engage in creative work outside of the home, so what we are asking of workawayers is support in the home, which will free us to engage ourselves in the project described above.

    So the work will be cooking, cleaning, babysitting; help with household chores. What we describe as a "House Fairy" - We have had some wonderful support of this kind in the past, so we send out a wish to the universe to bring us the right Angels to support our family life.
    We are happy to have more than 1 person, to share the house fairy work, so that there’s free time to come to the land with us if that kind of work interest you too.
    There's a great community in the village, you will be welcomed and will meet lots of people. though you can also find plenty of space for walks, meditation, splashing in the streams or reading under olive trees!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish / English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have spare double and twin rooms to accommodate guests, with private loo and private shower room. Shared use of kitchen, Terraces, living room and heated indoor pool and Steam room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There’s usually yoga twice a week in the village, and flamenco classes once a week ( attended by men too).
    And please look in the activities page of our website.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs per day, 2 days free.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 163321286553