Help with Animals & Gardens on a small farm in Miller, Missouri, USA with Dairy Goats, Chickens, Horses, Llamas

updated
Country

United States

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family farm on about 30 acres. We are a couple in our 70's with our son living on property in his 30's. We have dairy goats, chickens, ducks, two horses, two donkeys, a henny, and 2 llamas. We have a large greenhouse and 2 large outdoor gardens. We milk our dairy goats and like to watch the baby goats run, jump, and play. We do not smoke in our house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an older couple that lives on the farm with our adult son. My husband and son are military veterans and have done a lot of traveling. Our son has learned a lot about the farm animals and is the primary one that takes care of them. We hope to be able to teach someone the joys of owning and caring for animals or for someone to be able to teach us what they know. We have lived in many large cities and now have settled down in the country enjoying the farm life and we would like to share this lifestyle with others that might be interested in some or all parts of this lifestyle. While you are here you will be able to see and experience things such as the goats having babies the end of March, seeing how to milk goats, seeing how to properly care for and raise free range chickens, and lots of other small farm things. We will be having several baby goats being born from March 15-April 10, 2019 if you have a desire to see the goat kidding/birthing process.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a small family farm on about 30 acres with dairy goats, chickens, ducks, a couple of horses and donkeys. We also have a large greenhouse and 2 large outdoor gardens. We are always looking for help around the farm with family chores. We are fairly new to the farming experience so we welcome anyone with knowledge of goats, chickens, horses, and gardening that can teach us some things or that is interested in learning about the animals. We are also looking for help with training our family horses to maybe being able to ride some of the beautiful trails and conservation areas around here someday. The two horses we have are also not saddle broke but gentle lovable horses that just have not had the training.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own private bedroom with a full size bed, shared bathroom, and shared kitchen. We are a couple in our 70's with our son in his 30's. We have a router so you can have your own WiFi access. We live on a 30 acre farm just 30 minutes west of Springfield, MO and within about an hour to Branson. We are only about 12 minutes away from the horse sanctuary that also hosts workawayers where our son also volunteers at. We like to sit down for family meals usually once a day in the evenings but there is access to food in the house 24/7.

    We are only about 30 minutes away from Springfield, MO airport and can pick you up at the airport and drop you off if you choose to fly in.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are only a little over an hour from Branson, MO which is a big tourist spot. There are lots of beautiful national parks in northern Arkansas with caves and waterfalls. There are casinos in eastern Oklahoma just about 45 minutes away. We are called the "Four States" area because all are so close. We are also within about 45 minutes to Stockton Lake where there is always good fishing or a great day at the swim beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 155245471616