Come and help with construction & gardening in Estonia

Country

Estonia

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi ! Tere-tere,

    We are a French couple (Clarisse, 38 years old ; Elie, 39 years old) living in South Estonia, near by Räpina (Polvama county). We own a 3.3 hectares land in the countryside, surrounded by forest. Our property looks like a tiny village : around the main house, where we live full time a year, 10 woody buildings were built during the past. We live in Estonia since 3 years, and bought this property in June 2018.

    Our way of life is a little bit old fashion : no running water, firewood lifestyle, dry toilets, sauna every week. But we have (and provide ;) electricity and WiFi.

    Warm season is very busy in Estonia : we share our time between buildings constructions/ repairs, organic gardening, animals, picking up fruits, wild berries and plants, cooking/ transforming everything to keep for winter, helping neighbors. We are raising animals : chickens, 2 turkeys, 2 goats, 2 sheep and 3 lambs born in the spring.

    There is a ton of project, tiny or bigger, we wish to manage in 2019. Most of them must be done before cold season : everything must be ended in October 2019. Generally, there is always something to do...

    So, we definitely need extra hands.

    We are looking for motivated volunteers to help us managing our farming & constructions/repairs tasks. Being interested in farming lifestyle and self-sufficiency is a real plus.

    Welcome to handy or resourceful people. Thanks a lot for your precious help !

    Elie + Clarisse

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We experiment a lot, and try to find our own solution adapted to our environment and our wishes. We are happy to share our knowledge with you (and mistakes of course). We are interested in medicinal plants, basketry, self-sufficiency, permaculture, old know-how... We are also interested in yours. We choose to live differently, to got time to create or own way of life. So, people with same dreams, curious to see how it works and to participate, welcome home !

    Also, our Estonian friends/neighbors will be delighted to share their culture and their traditions.

  • Help

    Help

    We host volunteers with technical skills, resourceful and motivated people.

    Our 2019 main projects are :
    - old building demolition
    - woody construction : terrace and small accommodations
    - building a fence (around the garden and around a part of our field to keep animals)
    - renovating old cellar (cleaning up and lime masonry)
    - picking up and selecting fruits (mostly apples and berries)
    - cuting the grass
    - gardening
    And there is always something to do or repair.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Français, anglais

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide proper independent space to sleep (1 big bed) and a tent.

    1 (2, if you are a couple) volunteer(s) have a proper independent space to sleep and chill. You will sleep in a tiny building we sat up for you. We provide equipment : bed, sheets, pillows.

    Other volunteer sleep under tent. We can provide sleeping equipment too. Choose your spot !

    We provide also 3 meals a day : breakfast, lunch and dinner. Everybody eat together ! Most of the time, we cook and eat french cuisine. We eat meat : inform us if you have special food requests (gluten/meat free, for example).

    We share our traditional Estonian sauna (which is, by the way, our bathroom).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - Closest city is Räpina (4 km). You can reach it by bus from our place.
    - Meelva lake is only 2 km far : a very cute/ wild spot to swim. You can rent canoe there.
    - Enjoy forest activities : hiking, picking mushroom and wild plants, watching animals or tracks (bobcats, bears, dears, wild pigs)
    - Enjoy our french library.
    - Tartu is 66 km far.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.





Host ref number: 142368882221