Couple to help with the family house, Spring clean and move. Templecombe, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 117 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In Spring 2019 ... we would welcome a COUPLE or a PAIR OF FRIENDS - travelling together to come and stay and help for a minimum of 4 weeks or so. There could be an opportunity to stay for longer - if the environment and relationship works for both of us. A Month would be a good test time.
    ---
    My name is Laura and my family and I live in the beautiful Dorset & Somerset countryside in the South West of England. We have three studying children who only come home occasionally. Hence, from time to time, we have lots of spare bedrooms ! We have a soppy family dog called Whoopie Doo who is very entertaining and loves visitors and who likes to go for playful walks with our visitors. We live in a rural, detached house with a garden. There are farm animals and horses around us.

    We are situated in the WEST COUNTRY - 2 hours from London and close to the historic towns of Wincanton & Sherborne. There is a mainline station in our village TEMPLECOMBE - from where you can get anywhere. Our house is a 5 minute walk to the station. The trains run about every 30 minutes in all directions and there are also local buses which are more frequent. We may also be able to provide two bikes so you can cycle too. You will need to understand bikes and be able pump up your own tyres etc.

    Local sightseeing is good: Stonehenge is not far away (40 mins). Bath & Salisbury about an hour away. The nearest south coast beach & harbour (Poole) is approx a 75 minute drive. We have some lovely historic towns around us with interesting architecture like...Bruton & Sherborne.

    At home we are needing some general maintenance help around the house and garden. There might be lifting and moving objects and furniture as we plan to paint some bedrooms this spring and they need to be emptied first...into another space. Any experience with painting walls would be very useful. A couple preferring manual tasks and not minding being outside and who have practical skills would be best suited for this volunteering. We have both hand and power tools and gardening tools (lawnmower, strimmer etc) and it would help if volunteers are able to use these. You could also opt to do cleaning and ironing if you prefer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - You could improve your English.
    - Understand British family life from a family home
    - Understand doggycare by helping to look after WHOOPIE-DOO.
    - Learn a bit about British cooking
    - Visit local landmarks like Stonhenge & Bath
    - Improve your DIY skills
    - Practice Driving or cycling in the UK
    - Laugh and have some fun with us.

  • Help

    Help

    Now actively looking for volunteers for Spring 2019 to help with a big spring clean of the house.
    ------
    Possibly a HIM & HER?
    Would suit two healthy and strong persons travelling together - who like fresh air and don't mind physical and manual tasks... and can work together. Much of the help required would be in our small garden or in our house.

    If one of the couple had good CARPENTRY & TIMBER CONSTRUCTION skills and proven experience - and could use most power tools this would be amazing and we would be prepared to pay extra for this. The rate would be £12 per hour

    Otherwise, help would be appreciated with house and garden general maintainance - using lawn mowers / hedge trimmers/ pressure washers screwdrivers, etc. Also maybe some window cleaning.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in our 4 bed house and you would have ... a double Guest Bedroom with bathroom - with both bath and shower.
    (the bathroom is for your own use unless any of the children come home for a few days...which does sometimes happen). There is also a twin room available with 2 single beds if this experience appeals to 2 friends travelling togther.

    The kitchen and cooking areas are shared with the family. Catering would be mutually organised with myself mainly producing most of the evening meals and usually I direct lunch too. You can organise breakfast and lunch yourselves - from the larder/fridge. Also... we are very happy for you to produce some meals in the evening and you would need to advise us about what foods you would need us to buy. (We prefer not to have fried fish and/or strong curries cooked inside the house...this would need to be be on the outdoor BBQ).
    Usually we all dine together and have language conversation practice.

    If you fit the profile of the volunteers we are seeking ...we can email more information to you in order to help you decide if this could be a good volunteering experience for you.

    The internet in our home is a good (fibre) speed and offers unlimited access for phone and data and downloads. It is especially good for running 'What's App' for phone calls. It works all over the house and very well in the Guest bedroom. You can download and watch films. We have televisions with HDMI connections in every bedroom. We have mobile signal depending on who your provider is. Vodafone and EE are both very good.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Depending on your nationality and language we might be able to fix up mutual language conversation-improving sessions with friends and neighbours. If you are trying to improve your English, that is?

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week or 25pp hours a week split some other way




Host ref number: 138121214359