Help us to build up our (new to us) mini farm, near Abbotsford, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    175

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 26 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is our home base located near Abbotsford, BC, CANADA. We have a small farm that is approximately 5 km west of Abbotsford International Airport. We live a one hour car ride east of the beautiful city of Vancouver and 5 minutes from the USA Border Crossing. We are looking for help in building up and random repairs of our little farm. We also have two recreational properties that need a little TLC every now and then. We have 5 grown children all of whom are happily married, and 6 beautiful grandchildren.

    We love family, people, animals and nature. We are generally very easy going and love our quiet life in our cozy little piece of heaven. In addition to our horses we have 2 small dogs and 2 Golden Retrievers, one 2 and the other one 4 months of age. We have 5 cats to assist with the duty of Rodent control ... 2 are wild barn cats, 2 are on full time yard patrol and the last one, at 17 years old, has earned the title

    We are a non-smoking, non-drinking, NO DRUGS OF ANY KIND household and have no tolerance for any kind of disrespectfulness or foul language. We love our quiet way of life and would love to share it with the right person or couple.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are entering into the final stage of our lives before retirement. We come from a rich heritage of hardwork balanced with play. We have helped others to learn and practice English and are very comfortable with ESL. We have travelled North America extensively, have lived in 4 provinces and can and have provided ample information for travellers.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help in a couple of specialty areas at this time. We are in need of a person who is familiar with horses and has experience riding in either Western or English designations. Someone willing to assist in teaching proper horsemanship. We are desperately in need of someone experienced in the Construction world. Also, areas of continual need is weeding and garden maintenance, Yard Clean-up and maintenance, and help with paddock and field cleanup, to name a few. Our recreational properties have the occasional need for TLC as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodations are very comfortable bedrooms in our home. They each have a large double or queen sized bed and one has an additional single bed in it. They are either private or semi-private each with it's own picturesque view. Our home is heated via a furnace, and each room has it's own electric heater so you can adjust it to your ideal comfort level. We also have central air conditioning, which makes summer heat a non-issue. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you enjoy sightseeing, hiking, nature, mountains, beaches and ocean/lakes or exploring, this is the place for you. We are a short driving distance to the Cariboo, Vancouver Island, Thompson Okanagan and only 5 minutes from the USA border crossing. We are also very flexible with scheduling the workl to allow for as much enjoyment as possible. :)
    The nearest public transport is 4 km away. We have bicycles for you to use at your leisure.

    Due to the bus being so far away, It is to your advantage to have a drivers licence and a vehicle while you are here. Although we can give rides to town, it is often difficult to coordinate these trips as we usually do our own trips to town during the day when the WorkAway work needs doing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week











Host ref number: 131599271863