Come and learn many skills such as sustainable living, permaculture based gardening, building, decorating nad relaxation techniques in Toulouse, France

updated
Country

France

Favourited 128 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a recently-retired couple looking to live quietly and sustainably in a peaceful part of France. We have a wide experience of travel and life. Predominantly vegetarian, our interests/skills include engineering, accountancy, teaching (including English as a Foreign Language), skiing, walking, canoeing/kayaking , cookery, crafts, gardening.

    We are mainly British, and speak English as our first language, but we speak other languages more or less fluently.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would welcome anyone who can bring music or other entertainment skills, and we welcome all, irrespective of race, colour, religion, etc. providing you do not drink alcohol, smoke cigarettes or otherwise, or take drugs.

    There will be an opportunity to learn many skills such as sustainable living, permaculture based gardening, building and decorating, opportunity to use equipment such as sand blasters, welders, work in fully equipped woodworking workshop,and in the spare time aromatherapy, relaxation techniques, and fused glass art, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    We are bringing back to life a 500 year old French house in the foothills of the mountains that has suffered more than 50 years of neglect. It has a fertile garden that is totally, naturally organic but needs clearing and planting with our choice of vegetation rather than what chooses to grow there itself (in great profusion).

    The sort of jobs that we would like help with include cooking, food preparation and preservation, cleaning, re-organising, repairing, rebuilding, and decorating in the house, and clearing, landscaping, planting, weeding, power and other tool maintenance and repair, etc.

    We are looking for people who share our desire to have a simple sustainable lifestyle that is stress free and very much aligned with the principles of nature. We like to meditate, practise yoga, we are vegetarian, we do not smoke or drink alcohol, and we prefer wherever possible to use herbs and natural healing methods over allopathic medicine.

    We believe in enjoying what we do and doing it without any stress involved.

    We would ask you to help 5 hrs per day, with breaks in between, Monday to Friday and have afternoons and weekends free. We would normally expect to be able to take you with us on local trips on days off, Saturdays and Sundays, or you can borrow bicycles from us.

    We are sorry but we cannot accommodate people with children or pets.

    For those with nut allergies, also note, we eat tree nuts a lot.

    Couples or friends are welcome.

    It is important that everyone has a suitable visa and health/accident insurance in place.

    For health and safety reasons we welcome people who can understand basic English, and we are able to help you improve your English if you wish as we are CELTA (Certificate of English Language Teaching to Adults) certified teachers.

    We would welcome a native French speaker who could help us improve our command of this beautiful language.

    We would love to have the first helpers arrive in the spring, at the beginning of March. We would like people to be able to stay for at least a week. The nearest airport is Toulouse, or there is a wide choice of local, national and international buses and trains. We can meet you at any convenient pick up point by arrangement.

    If this sounds like your kind of opportunity we would love to hear from you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Polish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation (with WiFi) is in a shared room with shared bathroom. Workawayers will share a room in the house with each other. The room will be equipped with single beds and bedding, bed linen and towels will be provided. We provide full board of delicious vegetarian cuisine. We will all work together on cooking and domestic chores, unless agreed otherwise.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We aim to enjoy working with you in all these exciting projects. During times off there are plenty of opportunities for walking and cycling, and sometimes rafting and canoeing.The house is in the Pyrenees where there are many interesting hiking trails.

    We like to do yoga, fused glass art, and to attend local events. You are welcome to join with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 124922572681