Help us to create a paradise with help to build a food forest and enjoy living in the wilderness - Portugal

updated
Country

Portugal

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workawayers.
    Welcome to our site.
    We are Ton and Annemieke, a Dutch couple. We're travellers, but bought a piece off land (7 Hectares) in Portugal, the end of july 2018.
    We will live here in our truck, when we don't travel. At the moment we don't have much facilities. We' made a compost toilet . We go to the village to get water. Have a primitief outdoor shower. We have a caravan, a tent and a little indoor space with woodstove. If you have your own campervan, that would be great. There is space enough to find a nice spot in our valley. In the future we want to create off-grid camper spaces for adventurous travellers.
    We're easy going. Love to create things and love to live outside in nature.
    Annemieke is vegetarian, Ton eats meat so now and than. Vegans are welcome too.
    We have a dog, Lotte., and since November a little puppy who just came to our land, hungry and lost. We called him Paco and he can stay so long as we haven't find a nice home for him. Lotte is doing well with other dog's, so it's no problem to bring your dog! And she loves people. (We don't know much about Paco jet).
    We are creating a food forest, and we started with a little veggie garden.
    We have about 150 olive trees. We have been harvesting them; great to do! Welcome next year November/December to join us!!
    Other work is to clean the land. It hasn't been used for many years, so many treasures are overgrown. We have to clean the wells as well. There is water in them again, after a dry summer.
    We like to make a outdoor kitchen!
    Our land is about 3 km to the nearest village, 20 minutes north of Castelo Branco, 1 hour from the highest mountain in Portugal. We have a car and can show you around.
    So, as you can read, we don't have much to offer, but you can be sure; we're very nice company :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help with Eco project

  • Help

    Help

    You don't need to have any skills, but it's nice when you're interested in gardening, olive harvest or creating a food forrest.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can learn you a lot about gardening. We can show you around in the area, visit the highest mountain, or go swimming in the lake, 5 minutes from here. You can go on a bike (we have 2) or motorbike (we have 1) and hiking, or have a walk with the dog. Or just be lazy in a hammock.
    We will provide 3 meals a day. Mostly vegetarian, sometimes we have meat. If you have a diet, please let us know, so we can see if we can offer that.
    We don't have wifi, but their is a good 4G signal and you can use our hotspot.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, Englisch, German, French, Norsk

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If you have your own campervan, that would be great, because we don't have much facilities at the moment. We do have tents and a caravan and a little indoor space with wood stove. Please bring your own sleeping bag.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local transport is 3 km's away. There are a few city's nearby (30 minutes) There is a lake 5 minutes from here where you can swim, fish or take the canoe .
    If you like the silence and the milky way ; this is the right spot for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 122438623796