Sandy & Will

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/11/2015 - 30/09/2016


  • Description

    Hey there, thank you for visiting Will and Sandy's profile. Will is English and Sandy is Australian (with a European citizenship).

    After working and travelling throughout Australia, New Zealand and a bit of South-East Asia, we are now based in Europe throughout 2016. We consider ourselves good fun, dynamic, adaptable, reliable, independent workers, team players, hardworking, positive, friendly, interesting and sociable.

    Our hobbies and interests include: learning about different cultures, travelling, blogging, yoga, photography, health&fitness..To name just a few!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    SANDY:
    I have excellent communication skills, speak both English and Polish fluently and love learning new languages.

    Over the years I've built up work experience in:
    - Tourism (Australian tour guide, working aboard boats, tour desk consultant)
    - Hospitality (waitress, bar work, handling food, excellent customer service)
    - Housekeeping & Reception (4 star motel in New Zealand)
    - Sales & Marketing (retail, promotions, sales manager)
    - Social Media Management & Blogging (britandtheblonde.com)

    Since becoming a volunteer with work-away, I've developed skills in:
    - Receptionist (reputable hostel in Gran Canaria)
    - Teaching English (in France)
    - Animal Care (pet-minding, feeding zoo animals, cleaning enclosures)
    - Elderly Care (cooking, entertainment)
    - Making Barista Coffee
    - Renovating (sanding, painting, decorating)
    - Gardening (weeding, raking)

    WILL:
    I am a very versatile person and can pretty much adapt to anything as I am a quick learner, enjoy new experiences and am physically fit.

    Over the years of working in my hometown in the UK and travelling for the last 3 years; I've developed skills in the following areas:

    - Cleaning/Housekeeping & General Maintenance
    - Receptionist (reputable hostel in Gran Canaria)
    - Renovating (painting, decorating, plastering, etc)
    - Handyman (Gran Canaria)
    - Helping to prepare AirBnB properties
    - Sales and Marketing (retail, beachfront markets, charity work, time-share)
    - Social Media Management
    - Hospitality (waiting, bar work, barista, checking in guests, excellent customer service)
    - Gardening (wood chopping, fruit-picking)
    - Animal Care (pet-minding, feeding farm animals, cleaning enclosures)
    - Manual Labour (construction, farm work, concreting, worked with many hand tools/machinery)

    I'm also a fully qualified First Aider and a very confident driver with a full manual driver's licence.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Polish, Beginner French, Beginner Spanish

  • Age

    22 & 24

  • Nationality

    English and Australian/Polish

  • What else ...

    We are a very dynamic couple who will give anything a go. We will share a room with other volunteers if a private room isn't available. We aren't "joined at the hip" so will happily work independently.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos


My Photo Album


London, UK
Scooting around the Gold Coast of Australia
Looking after all the pets and farm animals in Normandy, France
Gardening in Normandy, France
Renovations: Peeling off the old wallpaper before plastering, sanding, then painting this bedroom in Central France
Playing with coaties at a small zoo in the Algarve, Portugal
Feeding and getting friendly with the birds at a small zoo in the Algarve, Portugal
Leading tours for hostel guests in Gran Canaria
Modelling for the Volver Beach Hostel website

Feedback