Whitney

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, New Zealand, Puerto Rico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/01/2019 - 23/01/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there! My name is Whitney and I am an adventurous, hard working, and open minded young woman. For the past four years I have worked full time as a consultant for a community engagement firm. In this work, I used my background in anthropology and my passion for expanding my perspective in order to help my clients (usually foundations, nonprofits, or purpose-oriented brands) to understand what their community needs and struggles with, in order to inform the way each client designs their services and prioritizes their resources.

    While I have mostly been based in either Washington, DC or Portland, OR in this role, the flexible and digital nature of my work has allowed me to also work remotely. I spent a year on the road last year, including three months in Western Europe, 40 days in Guatemala, and 40 days in Mexico. I found myself incredibly fortunate to gain the experience of balancing the desire to explore new places while also balancing my full time responsibilities.

    I have been based in Portland since June, and when I'm not going on weekend adventures, I like to keep busy, I LOVE animals, so in addition to my day job I dogsit and walk dogs in my neighborhood. I am also a certified yoga instructor and live a very active lifestyle, biking everywhere and rarely using a car. I live a privileged lifestyle full of blessings and opportunities.

    In January, I am using my paid time off for the year to spend the month in Puerto Rico with my cousin Kelsey. I have followed the post-Maria recovery process and am disgusted with how the US government has reacted to this disaster. Past projects in disaster resilience and recovery have also taught me that often help is the most useful once the news cameras have left - after the "juicy story" fades away there is still real traction for rebuilding and getting to a new normal. Kelsey and I will be traveling for the first part of the month (I am absolutely fascinated with Bioluminescence, so we will be taking advantage of the new moon to get out to Vieques) and then hope to find a project where we can help add real value to you and your community!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    On paper, I am an experienced consultant, dogsitter, waitress, and yoga instructor. For the past four years, I have managed responsibilities at a highly conceptual level - strategic plans, community engagement, etc - as well as at a tactical level - implementation, project management, and hands-on side gigs.

    In January, I am interested in contributing to the rebuilding process of Puerto Rico. Whether that means strategic advice or constructing buildings or reshaping forest paths for the education of children, I'd love to get hands on and create real value. I am a hard worker - both with the mental stuff and also the physical (picture me raking woodchips in 105 degree weather as a volunteer for Pickathon, a community-run bluegrass music festival in Happy Valley, Oregon). I look forward to talking with some of the hosts that are looking for an energy exchange to determine how my skills can best be leveraged for your benefit.

    I am a process-driven worker and quick learner who is always looking for ways to improve efficiency and effectiveness of a system.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, some Mandarin, and SUPER beginner Hindi

  • Age

    28

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat everything, in moderation :)

Profile is connected to:

gingerflave


Photos

Feedback