Tey-Marie & Emma

From: United States & United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/06/2018 - 30/09/2018

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    We are Emma - a 28 year old Scottish lass - and Tey - a 30 year old Florida national. We met in 2013 while teaching English in South Korea.
    Tey and I are Workaway veterans; we used this site from 2014-2015 to connect us with all the amazing people we met during our trip throughout Central and South America. We travelled through 8 countries and participated in 12 Workaway positions. We worked on farms all over, in people’s homes, hostels in Bolivia, start-up eco resorts in Colombia, we renovated old hotels by the beach in Puerto Cayo, we picked dried and packaged thousands of tea bags in Argentina, we constructed manure clay walls in San Agustine, we hunted for and lovingly cleaned hundreds of eggs per day in Costa Rica, we dug dry toilets in Lobitos, Peru, we even brewed craft ales from a living room in the Patagonia.
    After this amazing adventure was over, we went to Australia where we lived and worked for a year in Brisbane and Melbourne. We bought a car and explored the east coast, then we flew to New Zealand where we hiked by day and slept in a van by night.
    Tey and I are now starting a life together in the USA. We're recently married and want to explore parts of the country that we haven’t yet experienced while learning from those who have already established themselves in lifestyles we aim to implement ourselves in the near future.
    We are an adventure loving, hard working, good humoured couple and we aren't afraid to get our hands dirty!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Our previous Workaways endowed us with basic farming, gardening, permaculture, composting, animal care, irrigation and eco-construction experiences - to name a few. These were all new skills to us at the time, but we love learning and implementing new crafts, which is one of the many reasons we love volunteering. We both absolutely love animals - any and all animals that is (but dogs definitely hold a special place in our hearts) and we have extensive experience of caring for animals of all shapes and sizes.

    Tey has a background in news and video production. She got her masters degree in Journalism from Northwestern University and her bachelors degree in Communication and Media studies from Florida Atlantic University. She is the tech savvy half of our duo.

    After spending the last year and half as a barista in Australia and before that in Scotland, my special fare is making a pretty killer coffee and providing awesome customer service. But mostly, I am the chef in this dynamic duo: I have a strong passion for food and cooking, particularly coming up with new recipes from what's locally available. Dietary restrictions are never a problem, but a fruitful culinary challenge. I have a bachelors degree in English Literature from Dundee University and a recent fascination with anthropology which I have been studying online.

    Tey and I were both English teachers in South Korea for some time. I was there for a year and a half teaching children from ages 4 up to 17, and Tey was there for three years teaching middle and high schoolers.

    We can provide references for the time we have spent as house sitters. While working full time jobs in Melbourne, we acted as house sitters for 6 months through two websites (aussiehousesitters & happyhousesitters). We cared for people's properties but most importantly, their beloved pets - old and young, healthy and sickly.

  • Languages spoken

    English & basic Spanish

  • Age

    31 & 29

  • Nationality

    Scottish & U.S

  • What else ...

    We love animals, nature, getting our hands dirty, learning, challenging ourselves (physically and mentally), meeting new people and learning from their perspectives in life, immersing ourselves in different cultures, reading, hiking, yoga, traveling and overall - making a life that works with our morals, ethics and happiness, as opposed to conforming to what society says we "should" do.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Medications containing FLOXIN (ofloxacin)

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback