Shannon-Lea

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/01/2020 - 31/12/2029

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    553

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I'm a 20 year old artist and overall a bundle of energy and excitement! I'm currently studying Fine Art at university and my two main goals in life are to see the world and make ridiculous amounts of art. Currently, I am working on converting a van to be able to travel Europe in!

    I would love to help out in anyway I can (even if this means learning new skills, which I am very keen on doing anyway) and would really enjoy/thrive with art based projects (I am happy to send a portfolio!). Nevertheless, I can put my hand to anything and - as you will see from my experience further down - I've done a lot for someone of my age! I have a high quality camera and good knowledge of social media, website making and general technological knowledge, so I am more than happy to help in these areas!

    I would be absolutely delighted if I get the chance to work with animals, donkeys and dogs are my favourite animals! I don't have much experience other than looking after pets or animal sitting but would really love to learn more and eventually have my own animal shelter/home stead in future. I love cooking all kinds of food (I am vegan but will cook meat if required). I'm currently learning German, and I'm always happy to teach/assist with English!

    Job experience-
    -Volunteered as a camp councillor at Happy Faces in Ighiu, Romania for 7 weeks.
    -Worked in retail as a florist assistant since the age of 14.
    -Ran my own online business selling hand painted home decor since the age of 15. (SuperShan's Creations)
    -Work experience in a pre-school.
    -Social media and design experience on a personal and professional level, from my own branding as an artist and being a committee member and social media curator for W.I.P. Exhibition (@wip.derbyfineart)
    -Received disability equality training from Attitude Is Everything
    -Working at the Venice Biennale in October 2019

    Creative experience-
    -Head of Costume and Makeup for Bilborough College’s production of Les Mis
    -Played Skylar in the university’s Musical Theatre Society’s production of Bring It On
    -Ran my own university radio show
    -BA Hons in Fine Art at University of Derby.
    -Exchange programme at The State Academy of Fine Arts in Stuttgart, Germany from March - July 2018.
    -Painted a handful of murals and I am very keen to do more
    -Hired as a face painter and glitter artist for a handful of events!
    -Exhibited work as a fine artist in 6 exhibitions, and have sold my work in the UK and abroad
    https://shannon-lea.wixsite.com/artist

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    English, arts and crafts, painting, sculpture, floristry, writing, communicating with a language barrier, working with children, cooking, cleaning, teaching, beginner level German, photography, movie making and editing, social networking, designing, social media, vlogging, website making (using website builders)

  • Languages spoken

    English, learning German

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I'm a huge nature and animal lover. I love listening to music and most importantly dancing like a silly person! I love meeting new people and learning about different countries and cultures. I am a very colourful person and I'm usually seen covered in a rainbow array of outfits, makeup and glitter!!

    I love to have deep discussions and debates about the universe and anything/everything in it, laugh until my stomach hurts and make terrible puns! It's very rare that I'm seen without a smile on my face - even when I'm working I'm often singing - so there's never a dull moment! That being said, I'm a hard worker and always complete the task at hand with care and precision.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dairy

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan (but will cook meat!)

Profile is connected to:

richardlapthorn


Photos

Painting a caravan mural for a workaway host
Me and my travelling partner turned boyfriend, Richard, at my mums wedding
Getting messy at summer camp in Romania; 2017.
My Siberian husky companion; Star
A mural that I painted for camp (in a matter of hours with very little supplies!)
Summer camp in Romania; 2017.
The gorgeous horse, Blu.
Treasure map making! Summer camp in Romania; 2017.
Hiking in Ocoliș, Romania
"If you're born in August, make some noise!"
Climbing trees in Stuttgart, Germany, during my Erasmus exchange; 2018.
Improvised English lessons call for Cha Cha slide! (With Richard) Summer camp in Romania; 2017.

Feedback