Natalie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Germany, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 01/04/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hey! I'm Natalie.

    I'm a half Greek-Cypriot British citizen and a Fine Art graduate from University of Leeds. I was born and lived in Cyprus for 5 years before moving to the UK, where I spent 8 years living in a housing cooperative. On a monthly basis we would work together as a community to maintain and improve the grounds and interior communal areas, people of all ages and backgrounds, and every summer and winter I would strongly involve myself in the summer and winter party planning. It was here that I first worked and engaged with people of all ages and backgrounds so thoroughly and loved the social and collaborative possibilities such a place encourages.

    I have recently returned from a year's working holiday in Australia, where I waitressed and bartended at restaurants, worked selling merchandise at a stadium, and worked as a kitchen hand and motel cleaner in the outback between road trips and adventures. It was one of the greatest years of my life and made me fall in love with the social and multicultural hubs that hostels are, as hostels are the birthplace of so many of my closest friendships! It also taught me how to arrive in a completely new and unfamiliar place and make a happy little life embracing all the new opportunities available to you.

    I'm a bubbly and creative person with a great passion for travelling, and am always eager to make the most of every day, be that waking early to explore a new place or to make lots of progress on a current project. In my free time I do lots of drawing and illustration, visit art galleries, find beautiful natural swimming spots, make creative mostly vegan dishes (a lot inspired by my years working at a vegetarian restaurant making the intricate vegan salads!), read and go to concerts. I have visited many other parts of the world including travelling around India for 2 and a half months, South-East Asia for 4 months, many areas of Portugal, Spain, Greece and Germany, Budapest, Rome and Finland.

    My confidence has grown so much from these experiences abroad, particularly in my year in Australia and the months in India and Asia; I am now so at ease in any social encounter, and highly competent and confident in planning all aspects that travelling or living abroad for an extended time involves. I see workaway as an amazing opportunity to volunteer abroad and have many more social interactions, where I can really immerse myself in the culture of a place and become involved in collaborative projects.

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Strong adaptability
    Highly social, strong communication and teamwork skills
    Self-motivated
    Excellent planning and organisation skills
    Creativity, specialising in drawing/illustration and printmaking
    Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator skills (Mac)
    Website building and social media skills
    Vegetarian/vegan cooking
    Barista skills
    Kitchen hand

  • Languages spoken

    English (native) and basic Welsh, French, German

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescatarian (no red meat/chicken/lamb)

Photos

Feedback