Gail

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/07/2018 - 01/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Now on road again July 2018 to June 2019 with a vehicle this time around, and enjoying the freedom of movement.

    I am a 61 year old female currently traveling during a period of reinvention. Although I am traveling around the United States right now, I have the freedom to choose other countries as well. I have been a custom cabinetmaker for 30 years, running my own business, and teaching classes for women and kids, as well as balancing a secondary career as a musician and teacher. I finished building a straw bale house in 2014 in southern Vermont where I learned other skills than just doing my own cabinetry for the house (tiling, electrical, some stone work, concrete countertops). I travel on a small budget from the rental of my finished home and love to connect with people in their everyday lives. I'm not afraid of working hard, and learn new skills quickly. Because I've run my own business, I feel a sense of responsibility with whatever I choose to do, as well as being efficient. Teaching women and girls especially has been the best work I have done, to see them explore empowerment and new choices through my offerings.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    33 years cabinetmaking
    22 years house building-straw bale
    40 years performing and teaching music
    25 years teaching woodworking
    organic gardening
    creative problem-solving and good organizational skills
    writing
    good with people, easy to be around
    patient and respectful

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    62

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    As part of my reinvention (mostly the body no longer wanting to do 12 hour days of physical labor), I am exploring the world of creative writing through a travel memoir blog encompassing many different directions of writing. gailstravel.weebly.com

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Not that I know

    • Special dietary requirements
      no red meat or pork

Feedback