Michaela

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Australia, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Indonesia, Kenya, Maldives, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, Tanzania, Thailand, Uruguay

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2019 - 29/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello!
    My name is Michaela Schwartz, but most of my friends call me Mikey (my-key). I live in a beach town in southern California and am currently taking a year off from school to travel before I start my second year of university.
    .
    About myself:
    I am a very happy person. I love the beach, the sun, earth, being young, reading, the sunset(I watch the sunset almost every night at the beach), my family, learning, spanish, acai bowls, kids, and adventures.
    I am from a very close family of 5 kids. I have an older brother who goes to college at the University of Hawaii( a second home to my family), and three little sister. I LOVE have a big family and would want to be apart of any other family that I am staying with.
    I have traveled alone and last year did my first trip to Africa through Workaway. When I was 14 my best friend and I spent a year earning money by babysitting, and teaching ukulele classes so that we could go spend 2 weeks at a spanish and adventure camp in Costa Rica. On that trip I fell in love with spanish and the world. After that I needed to learn spanish, so I went when I was 15/16 to live with a friend of mine in Madrid, Spain. I lived there for 6 months attended the local high school and learned Spanish.
    The past two year I have fallen in love with the environment and travel. After taking an environmental science class I began to volunteer at the Ecology Center (a learning center for sustainable farming and other practices), eating more plant based organic food, and am now majoring in environmental studies at the University of California, San Diego.
    I have lots of experience working with kids, I had a job for a year and a half at a kids club and have babysat my sisters and neighbors my entire life. I've work in multiple restaurants that are fast paced and have taught be a lot about dealing with people and stress. I also have a lot of experience with the ocean.

    Currently I am living and working in Australia until June so I am not looking for workaways until after then.

    Why I want to Workaday:
    These next few years of my life are very special. I think it is very important to met the world before I decide my place within it. I want to learn as much as I can and grow. I would love to learn about a new country, city, way of life, language(or improve my spanish), farming, sustainability, and about people. I am very excited!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Tutoring(english, spanish, ukulele, math, history)
    Gardening
    Volunteer Experience
    Babysitting
    Environmental Knowledge
    Cooking
    Restaurant Experience

  • Languages spoken

    English, decent Spanish

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    United States

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      normally I eat vegetarian but am more flexible when I travel

Photos

High school graduation 2017

Feedback