Michele

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/09/2018 - 04/10/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am originally from a small city in Northwest Italy, where I grew up spending my time between the sea and close by mountains. This led me to love nature and wilderness over big crowded cities. Especially, I enjoy any activity that can be performed outdoor, surrounded by beautiful landscapes. I love hiking, mountain biking and skiing.

    Once I finished high school, I left my small city in Northwest Italy to travel around the world for nearly one year. During this trip, I learnt english, but, above all, I discovered the beauty of meeting different people and being exposed to completely new experiences. All this travelling pushed me to attend university outside of Italy; in the UK. There, I spent four years completing my bachelor's and master's degree in psychology and neuroscience respectively. For the past year, I lived in the south of the Netherlands, undertaking some extra university courses.

    After five years of university, I now feel the need to take a break from it and learn something new and different from life. Especially, I would love to spend some time outdoor, enjoying nature and working with my body rather than my mind exclusively. I am really eager to learn novel practical skills, such gardening, farming and building. Although I don't have much experience in these fields, I am a very committed learner. When I put my mind into something, I always work hard to achieve good results. One of my dreams for the future is to be able to buy some land to have my own vegetable garden and maybe some animals for farming as well. However, before being able to do so, I need to learn all the necessary skills and see how things can be run smoothly.

    This need for novel experiences and learning new practical skills has pushed me to join Workaway.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am fluent in Italian (mother tongue) and English. I have a degree in psychology, which enabled me to achieve good written and verbal communication abilities as well as interpersonal skills. I am good with computers since I had some programming experience. I also have some gardening skills as I have been helping out in the home garden since I was a kid. Finally, I have had volunteering experience in interacting with customers.

  • Languages spoken

    Italian and English

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback