Travis

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Brazil

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/03/2019 - 03/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Travis :) I'm 26 years old and I'm a traveler.

    I was born and raised in Seattle, Washington and in 2010 I graduated from Western Washington University with a Bachelor's degree in English: Creative Writing; and Spanish: Language and Literature. Since graduating from University, I have dedicated myself to traveling the world. To meeting new people, places, and cultures.

    I believe traveling is the best way to experience this beautiful world we live in. I also believe traveling is vital to grow and learn as a person. Through the sharing and learning of eachother's experiences, I think we can grow as human beings and become more aware, empathetic and compassionate to societies and cultures outside of our own.

    Learning Spanish has been a huge importance in my life, to connect and learn about people who are different than I am. Through the understanding of language, people can gain a greater understanding of eachother, and the differences we may have as separate communities and cultures.

    Through workaway, I am trying to secure more volunteer work for myself, focusing mostly on english teaching. I have worked two projects now through workaway, which have been of much value to me. The first, was in 2016, a four month project teaching english to people of all ages in Xpujil, Mexico. The second i recently completed was a two month project teaching english and other basi subjects to native children of Ecuador living in Achuar territory in the Amazon. In these coming months I hope to find yet another project, to continue teaching, traveling, and learning.

    __________
    ¡Hola! Soy Travis :) Tengo 26 años y soy un viajero.

    Nací y crecí en Seattle, Washington, y en 2010 me gradué de Western Washington University con una licenciatura en inglés: escritura creativa; y Español: Lengua y Literatura. Desde que me gradué de la Universidad, me he dedicado a viajar por el mundo. Para conocer nuevas personas, lugares y culturas.

    Creo que viajar es la mejor manera de experimentar este hermoso mundo en el que vivimos. También creo que viajar es vital para crecer y aprender como persona. A través del intercambio y el aprendizaje de las experiencias de cada uno, creo que podemos crecer como seres humanos y ser más conscientes, empáticos y compasivos con las sociedades y culturas fuera de las nuestras.

    Aprender español ha sido de gran importancia en mi vida, conectarme y aprender sobre personas que son diferentes de mí. A través de la comprensión del lenguaje, las personas pueden obtener una mayor comprensión de los demás, y las diferencias que podemos tener como comunidades y culturas separadas.

    A través de Workaway, estoy intentando de asegurar más trabajo voluntario para mí, centrándome principalmente en la enseñanza de inglés. He trabajado en dos proyectos ahora a través de workaway, que han sido de mucho valor para mí. El primero, fue en 2016, un proyecto de cuatro meses de enseñanza de inglés a personas de todas las edades en Xpujil, México. El segundo que completé recientemente fue un proyecto de dos meses para enseñar inglés y otras materias básicas a niños nativos de Ecuador que viven en el territorio Achuar en el Amazonas. En los próximos meses, espero encontrar otro proyecto para continuar a enseñar, viajar y aprender.

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Communication, writing, math, computers, manual labor, carpentry, organization, customer service, problem solving, planning,

  • Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I'm a hard worker and would like to work in a Spanish speaking environment.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback